Pet Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by soupy
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
The dogs loved them. Next time I will use cooking spray on the cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I'd been meaning to make these for about a month now, even had everything in my pantry. So I finally got around to it tonight. These were VERY easy to make. I altered the recipe a bit: I used 1 C. of the wheat germ, 2 jars of baby food, and no water. I put them in the oven and took Molly out, our totally amazing Cav, and by the time we got back, the house smelled amazing! I was amazed! lol I never expected dog treats to smell like that! The final test came when I gave her one and she took it with pleasure and acted like she had a prize in her mouth! The ONLY change I will make next time is to roll them into small logs and then flatten them. I think it would be easier for her to handle this way. Next time I'll try some sweet potato instead of all baby food. Seems you could put about anything in these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Just made our first batch...dogs love them! We did add honey to the recipe. I even tasted them. Pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Hardin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
We made these as Christmas gifts. Both large and medium dogs loved them, haven't tried on the cats yet. We followed the suggestions of adding chicken broth and finishing with an egg wash. If you're giving as gifts, double or triple the batch. Buy the wheat germ from a bulk bin if available. Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Very easy and my dogs loved them! One of my dogs is allergic to almost everything, including wheat germ and chicken! So I used turkey baby food instead of chicken and buckwheat flour instead of wheat germ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This was great for a base for many types of pet cookies. I made some with peanut butter , some with cheese etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by winter_rogue

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Was hard to work with. Too crumbly to roll out for cutting and would fall apart too easily after baking, even after adjusting the recipe a little. My 2 cats stuck their noses up at them, but my Border Collie, Bella loved them. As did her 2 friends, Rain & Gadget. Still, won't try them again as I would prefer a recipe that cats & dog both like and want to use cookie cutters for giving as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dalhousie, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
All 3 of my dogs give them a "10". Easy to make. I added an extra 1/2 Tbs. of water and baked 25 minutes. Made 31 cookies. My dogs weren't sure at first. They sniffed and ate it slow and after they realized what they tasted like, they wanted more and more. They about took off my fingers trying to get at them so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I added a can of moist cat food in addition to the baby food, and flour enough to be able to roll out dough. Used small cookie cutter and baked for 20-25 minutes at 350. They love them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mesewnow

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
My dog (and the neighbor dogs) chowed down on these cookies. I made a second batch using some sweet potato puree that I had on hand. Great base recipe that would still be good with different baby foods. I'll use this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vailgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evergreen, Colorado, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Chef John's Dijon Mustard

See how to make homemade Dijon-style mustard.

Winter Simmer Pot

See how to make a simmering pot of aromatics for your home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States