Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
Perfect Pesto recipe!! I would add some salt if serving it to others, but it was perfect for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
Delicious! If pine nuts aren't readily available, walnuts, pecans or even almonds are great substitutes. Doesn't hurt to add a bit of lemon juice and a pinch of salt, too. We always plant basil so we can have a plentiful supply for pesto. We have successfully been able to preserve it by pressing plastic wrap on the surface of the pesto in a glass storage jar, then sealing with a plastic top and keeping in the refrigerator, or by spraying ice cube trays with olive oil, filling with pesto and freezing. Once solidly frozen, pop out and store in a freezer bag in the freezer, taking out only as many 'pesto cubes' as we need for our recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
Excellent! I've added a little fresh oregano, at times and usually a pinch of salt. Also, I've substituted toasted or raw sunflower seeds, but pine nuts are better; just more expensive. I've mixed a bit of pesto into a green salad for a different dressing, and put it on a Triscuit, with a sliver of Parmesan and basil leaf &/or black olive, as an hors d'oeuvres. This recipe is classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Washington, New York, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
First time making pesto!!! My neighbor grew a lot of basil and told me to take as much as I want. Yummm!!!! I just added a little sea salt to it. I froze it in an ice cube tray for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
What an easy and delicious pesto recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
OMG! I wish I could award this 10 stars! I made it exactly as directed and used the full amount of parsley. As suggested by other reviewers, I toasted the pine nuts and added a smidge of salt. This recipe is amazingly fast to pull together and a GREAT way to use up an herb garden's summer bounty. This will become a new staple in my house. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
Definitely add the pinch of salt and toast the pine nuts. Freeze leftovers in ice cube trays for later use. For a great quick dinner - put some heavy cream in a sauce pan and bring to a boil, add 1 or 2 cubes of the frozen pesto and serve over pasta or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
I made this last night for dinner using some basil that I picked from my moms garden. We really liked it and I would have given it 5 stars, except that a few changes (for us) needed made, so as-is it was a 4 star recipe for me. I followed the amounts exactly, and listened to some other reviewers suggestions. I added the juice of half a lemon, to keep it from browning, I cut the garlic amount in half (and I'm glad I did), left out the parsley, as I wanted this to be authentic and simple, added a pinch of salt, and toasted the pine nuts. I also made the pesto and let it rest while I prepped the other parts of the meal, which I think helped meld the flavors. Make sure to use quality parm and OO, in my opinion it makes all the difference in a good pesto. :) I served the pesto over linguine, with an Italian stuffed chicken breast, and a salad. I will definitely be making this again and might try freezing it since my parents always end up with an abundance of basil from their garden. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannyBanany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
I chose this recipe because the ingredients are nearly the same as those of a traditional recipe that came from Italy. I prefer this one because it is looser making it easier to use. This is a great foundation for future pesto venture! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
I subbed walnuts for pine nuts. I also added some kosher salt and red pepper flakes. I, too, freeze it in ice cube trays to pop in pasta dishes later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 402) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Pesto Polenta Lasagna

See how to make delicious pesto and polenta lasagna.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States