Pesto with Arugula Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I just finished making this. Incredible. I haven't even added the salt or pepper yet, and it tastes great. I will be adding this pesto to pasta tomorrow. And after that, I'm going to surprise my husband with a white pesto pizza. This has so many uses. Thank you so much for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Great on pizza instead of red sauce (try with herbed goat cheese and sliced tomatoes), in a sandwich or just spread on toast. The garlic was strong initially, but it really mellowed the day after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I got arugula and basil from a friend's garden/CSA share... there's nothing better to do with it than make this pesto! I like the bite of the arugula! It goes very well over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Very good flavor. Not too weak like some pesto. I didn't have the olives so I went w/o.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I made these changes: used about 2 cups of each basil and arugula, almonds instead of pine nuts (they are much less expensive), a little bit more lime juice and about a cup of oil to make it more creamy. I also did not have any red wine vinegar on hand. I like the addition of the cumin - I found this pesto to be extremely explosive with flavor! Served it with pasta with shrimp and black olives (instead of blending it in with the pesto). Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I first fell in love with arugula pesto when we went to the west coast it was served on salmon. This recipe tastes just like it! Great on any pasta or most any fish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
DH really is on the fence about basil, and in particular pesto. The arugula cut enough of the basil taste that he really enjoyed this. I subbed toasted walnuts for the pine nuts- too expensive! Part of my basil was of the lemon variety so this really had a fresh flavor as I upped the lime juice just a smidge too. Nice change and makes a big batch so I could freeze some. Thanks Mark!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I am a huge arugula fan (it's always in my fridge - sometimes I forget to use it and it goes bad) and I enjoy basil pesto. It took owning a food processor to get me to try this recipe. I usually do my own thing depending on what I have on hand - didn't have fresh basil since the local farmers market just ended. 4 cloves of chopped garlic that I threw in with 1/4c pine nuts that I toasted in a pan on the stove. I added parm cheese and omitted the olives. I think I used about 1/4-1/3c olive oil which was plenty for me. It made a great spread on my tomato sandwich and I'm looking forward to trying it with other things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Fast and Delicious in the food processor for tonight's dinner. I substituted walnuts and served it with chicken cutlets and pasta for a winning meal. Thank you for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chef John's Almond Arugula Pesto

See how to make pesto with peppery, full-flavored arugula instead of basil.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Make and Store Pesto

See a time-saving trick to have delicious homemade pesto on hand any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States