Pesto Tuna Salad with Sun-Dried Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by MomTo6
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I am rating this 4 stars because it's way too much pesto as most other reviewers have noted. I used half the pesto and served this on toasted ciabatta. Oh my goodness, this is a gourmet sandwich! Delicious!! Even my husband (who *hates* tuna) finished his sandwich and went back for seconds. I recommend the "Pesto Sauce" recipe from this site to use in this yummy sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomTo6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I thought the pesto was a little overpowering, next time I'll use a little less. I think this is a tuna salad recipe for people who don't like tuna because we could barely taste it over the pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
FANTASTIC! We found chopping up the sun dried tomatoes spread the flavor throughout the salad better. Also loved the suggestion to chop some jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaLizGa
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Really, really wonderful and excitingly new! I've never tasted anything like it. I actually used three cans of tuna, stuck to the 1/4 cup pesto (just regular, I didn't have basil pesto), threw in an extra tomato or so and used probably just 1 Tbsp mayo, eyeballing the quantities. I put it in a warm pita for a scrumptiously light dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This recipe was a great way to jazz up tuna salad and use up some pesto I had in the fridge. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
My father called it a $20 5th ave gourmet tuna sandwich. I served on toasted English Muffins with a piece of romaine lettuce. Tastes amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Ok...I did this recipe with cooked shrimp that I bought from Walmart. I'm low carbing and was looking for something different to do with the shrimp. Followed the recipe otherwise except I added some Old Bay Seasoning. DELICIOUS!!! But then I went stupid and added some relish. DUMB CHOICE. It's still decent but I should have stopped while I was ahead. If you use shrimp instead of tuna...remember this isn't tuna salad and leave well enough alone. Lesson learned... I will make this again next week and follow directions. Hint: Buy pesto ($2.50) and sun-dried ($1.15) tomatoes from Central Market bulk area. It's soooo much cheaper but the quality is still amazing. Update: I just made this recipe again but went by the recipe but with shrimp that I chopped up(manually) and it taste great. I still added a dash of Old Bay which gave it a kick. The only thing missing is a little citrus zing. I didn't have any lemon or lime but I think that would have added the perfect touch. Although I love it with the shrimp I'm still a little scared to try it with the tuna. Which is weird because I'm usually open to try all types of new things and I know it's less expensive than shrimp. I'm sure I'll try it with tuna eventually. Thanks for the great recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COZY CUISINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
This is very good. Three pieces of pesto frozen in ice cube trays makes the 1/4 cup of pesto you need. I used dried sun-dried tomatoes that I chopped fine and rehydrated with hot water. Added some snipped chive for something fresh. Wonderful - will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Super yummy! I wanted to try this recipe badly, but didn't have pesto or basil around the house. I did have a bunch of cilantro and pine nuts, so I made up a batch of cilantro pesto. I also didn't have sun-dried tomatoes in oil, so I took my dry ones and chopped them in the food processor along with the pesto and added a bit more evoo to moisten them up. Last night I made some chipotle mayo dip for tostones, so I added that in place of the regular mayo and put in a couple of fire roasted red peppers to the tuna mix. I wish I had an avocado to top with the filling, but I'm eating it with pasta this time. YUMM! This is a winner!! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lostjujubeans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I can't tell you how many times I have made this now after discovering the recipe over a year ago. I've made it using canned salmon. It is just sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tryingcake

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States