Pesto Torta (Layered Spread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Made this for a holiday party yesterday. I did drain the pesto which I purchased in the refrigerated deli section of the store. Also drained the Sun Dried tomatoes I diced and put on top. There was a lot of food at the party but everyone who tried this loved it. I would probably be a bit more careful layering it next time and maybe try it with the roasted peppers as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABRIELLAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This was so easy and so delicious! I used a smaller au gratin pan and put one package of cream cheesethen spread the pesto, then spread the chopped roasted peppers (I used Trader Joe's prepared pesto and their yellow and red roasted peppers). Then one more package of creamcheese. I didn't drain the pesto and probably could have let the peppers drain a little more but it was fine. The oil from both definitely seeped into the torta but it wasn't runny. It actually added to the spread. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This is soooo good and easy to make. I do substitute sun dried tomato paste for the red bell pepper paste. I like serving it with the miniature bread slices as pictured. My 2 stepkids, myself and my husband can eat this whole thing in about 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahmcc311

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Fantastic... I changed a main ingredient though - I prefer to use diced sun dried tomatoes (in oil, drained) in place of the red peppers. I also top with shredded parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flower Fan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I must say....this was a HUGE hit at bunco tonight. I used a round bowl rather than loaf pan as my mold and included the roasted bell peppers in the layering process. The presentation was beautiful and the taste was exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Crabtree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wynne, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Wow! This was so good. I am practicing recipes in preperation of throwing a baby shower so I tested the Pesto Torta on my friends last weekend. I can't explain how addicting it is. We used crostini, sesame crackers, and when we ran out of those resorted to using pieces of corn tortilla to dip into it. I actually finished off the last few tablespoons of it by just eating it by itself. It's excellent. I used a jar of sliced red and yellow roasted bell peppers from Trader Joes but next time I'll buy 2 jars because the pesto took over all of the flavors (which I'm not complaining about at all :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I made this as a app. for an Itilian dinner at my home. I doubled the cream cheese and added extra layers of the chopped drained red peppers. You must drain your pesto or you will end up with an oily mess!!! I used a bread loaf pan as my mold, it came out perfect. I served 20 people and had plenty, plus several request for the recipe. Thanks for a great, easy idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Good flavor but very oily so when I took it out of the form it just fell into a big lump. I may try it again but I will have to think of a different way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Five stars for an easy, impressive appetizer. I halved the recipe for a group of 6 - I did have other appetizers also, and it was plenty. I cut my cream cheese in half and shaped each square into a flat round shape. Chopped & dried my red peppers on a paper towel. On the finished product, I pressed chopped green onions around the sides. Lovely. Next time I may try seasoning the cream cheese with some garlic? Served with water crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
To make it even simpler, I used one block of cream cheese, cutting a zig zag pattern through the middle, reversed the two pieces to create a Christmas tree. Topped with pesto, and smaller pieces of the red peppers in rows looking like lights. Then a friend broke a Triscuit cracker in half to make the trunk. Looked great and tasted even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States