Pesto Torta (Layered Spread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by JESSICADEZ
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I've made this recipe for two groups, and it was a great success. I cut up the red peppers, and put some in each layer, and a heavy layer right on top. It makes a very nice presentation, surrounded by sliced Italian bread. I used my own homemade pesto, which I think adds a great deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICADEZ
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Excellent Italian spread! Amazing flavor! I made this for a friend's Italian-themed birthday party and made these minor adjustments: I put the drained peppers in a small food chopper and chopped them finely. Then after flattening each slice of cream cheese, I layered first the cream cheese, then pesto, then cream cheese, then peppers, until all were used up, ending with peppers on top. (You will also want to drain the pesto on a paper towel first because otherwise the oil comes out after sitting for a while)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Super easy and quick! I took this to a lunch at work and it ended up being the most talked about item there. I also diced the peppers to make them easier to eat. Will absolutely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
Took this to a baby shower and received many compliments. Used fresh pesto and roasted my own peppers. I molded it into a mini-bunt pan, which produced a beautiful finished product. If I do make this again, I'll definately dice the peppers to make for easier scooping onto the crackers! Thanks :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
I made this for a dinner party and my friends were so impressed. It looks like it came from a gourmet food market and tastes even better than it looked. This was the first thing to go at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mclean, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
This was great!!! And so easy!! I've made it several times and have gotten many compliments. In fact, just the other night, an Italian friend raved and raved about it and wanted the recipe! I did try the layer thing and I wasn't very successful so I've just been using one layer. It's work just fine. Also I agree "Thanks for the tip about cutting up the peppers"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
I have made this several times for parties and I NEVER have any left over! People always ask for the recipe and are amazed at how easy it is. I tell them, "If you can stack things, you can make this recipe." I use a 5" diameter springform pan and (as suggested by another reviewer) I slice the cream cheese and form it into a patty shape to fit the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PROZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Point, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This was very good. I served it at a small gathering and it went over very well. I chopped the peppers to make it easier to serve. I think that sun dried tomatoes (as someone else suggested) would be a great addition. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethel Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
Prepared this and numerous other recipes from this site for a 50th wedding anniversary party. Everyone asked who catered the party!!! Very easy to make and can be prepared a cday or two ahead of time, whioch is awsome, I added 2 pieces of provolone cheese to the top then added the peppers, chopped fine, pretty presentation! Thanks for sharing. I have a suggestion: when reviewing or even sending in a recipe please state how far in advance it can be made, or if it can be frozen, when you are having a large party this information is SO HELPFUL!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perri Pender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
This recipe got raves..I added a few pine nuts and layered the roasted peppers in the torte as well. It was easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita Bashline

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States