Pesto Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Excellent - as a side dish or an appetizer! And what really great is this is so easy, yet it tastes like you spent a lot of time and effort. I used a combination of Parmesan, Romano and mozzarella cheeses to take this over the top. But, no matter what cheese you choose this is bound to be good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
I agree...these were scrumptious. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
These were great. I think next time I will try some with Mozz. cheese on top. Try to use tomatoes that are more firm so they didn't get mushy as they sit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Higginsville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Dixon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Cute, easy and delicious, these added color, flavor and interest to our dinner. Even tastier and easier because I had homemade pesto in the freezer. I probably went a little lighter on the pesto, however, than the recipe directed. Also, since Hubs is not a big fan of Parmesan, at his request I topped his with mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I have made these for years. I do them in the oven or on the gas grill. They are great in the summer with steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
gets gooey soon serve carefully
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
These were super yummy. I took the advice of others and added just a sprinkle of shredded mozzarella cheese on top of the pesto before adding the parmesan. The mozzarella helped "bind" everything. I used vine-ripened small tomatoes and their size was perfect. A melon-baller made scooping out the tomatoes a snap. I then let them drain on a paper towel so they wouldn't get mushy. They took about 15 minutes in the oven - - give or take. This was a nice compliment to my Father's Day dinner. Thanks, lovedody!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This is tasty, fast & easy. It adds great color to the plate along with whatever else you are serving. I followed the recipe exactly the first time and found it to be fine as written. The next time, I sprinkled a small amount of salt & pepper on the tomato before adding the pesto. I also used mozzarella along with the Parmesan that I freshly ground. I will make it with this way in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
These were great, full of flavour, and easy to make. I'd do these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
These were awesome! My picky kids even wanted me to make another batch! I used Roma tomatoes, jarred pesto (classico) and both mozzarella and parmesan cheese! The best I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States