Pesto Scrambled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I used some leftover feta cheese and was delighted at the flavorful result. Others have mentioned variations they've done, and I can see this recipe as a jumping off place for a lot of combinations. The pesto is the key, and if you really like pesto you could add even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
One of my favorite restaurants serves a breakfast dish similar to this called green eggs and ham. It includes the scrambled eggs, pesto, diced ham and topped with feta cheese. Wonderful combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I was pleased at how quick and easy this vegetarian dinner idea was to make. I replaced the cheddar with feta and added capers and Italian seasoning. Then I served it in folded flatbread naan topped with lettuce, avocado slices and parmesan cheese. Flavorful and hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I really enjoyed this as my lunch today. I used Egg beaters and took other reviewers advice and replaced the cheddar with feta. Delicious and thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I personally like the idea of fresh parmesan instead of cheddar and next time I will cut out most of the oil and add some onion. As far as rating it goes though...I served this to my 8, 5, and 3 year olds on top of garlic bread as a breakfast for dinner meal. They loved it and I pleasantly listened to moans of "Mommy this is delicious!" coming from all three of them. My very picky husband said, "I think you found a winner here." so I will definately be making it again. It was a quick meal and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
All in all, not a bad recipe. A lot of flavor from the pesto. I did modify it, however. I have non stick pans and don't normally use oil, so I eliminated the oil entirely. I also used egg substitute and added the pesto to the egg mixture before cooking, as I wanted any excess oil to cook off. It worked perfectly that way. It's easy, quick, and delicious. Served with toast. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I used olive oil instead of veg oil and used feta cheese instead of cheddar. I tossed in a few capers for added zip. These were really good and similar in taste to my favortite Greek omelet that my daughter makes. I will make these often! Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Yum yum! I used farm fresh eggs, homemade chunky pesto and shredded parm instead of cheddar. I used more pesto than called for. I can see that if you use a pesto that is thin (i.e. contains more oil), this could turn out a little greasy. What I had made was pretty chunky to begin with, so it didn't add an unpalatable amount of oil. Had it with whole wheat baguette, and I think it would be fabulous with some sliced fresh tomatoes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
These were really good! Only changes I made were that I did not use oil, just a little butter and I used mozzarella cheese because I dont think cheddar goes with pesto. Very cheesy and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I never would've thought to put pesto and eggs together but it was delicious!! I took the advice of others and used parmesan and feta cheese instead of cheddar. Also, my boyfriend won't eat anything without meat so I added some ham and it turned out great! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fatalanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Lobster Scrambled Eggs

Watch Chef John make scrumptious scrambled eggs with leftover lobster meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States