Pesto Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Classic. Some people may like a touch of sweetness in their pesto; try adding 1/4 tsp of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieHansen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central City, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
THIS IS SO TASTY!!!! I changed it up by not using walnuts (forgot to purchase them), adding an extra clove of garlic (it was small organic garlic...), but most importantly: adding cream cheese to thicken (about 3/4 cup, but I wasn't measuring)! This was BY FAR the BEST pesto I have ever had, and every bite felt like a taste of heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Awesome, but too much garlic. I would tone it down to 3 cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I believe the KEY to any delicious recipe is quality, and that includes the ingredients to this excellent recipe for Pesto. I use freshly picked organic basil from my outdoor plant; freshly grated imported parmesan cheese, and olive oil from my Father's island of Crete in Greece. The olive oil brand is "Mythology" and its excellant. When it comes to cooking, no substitutes, compromises, no exceptions !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This is the recipe I always use! Only thing I do different is do 1C walnuts, 1/2C pine nuts and a tad more oil......perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This was very good pesto, but I'm pretty sure I used less oil, I'm guessing 2/3 cup? I'm always trying to shave off a calorie or two, and I can say I really didn't miss that extra 1/3 cup or so of oil. Only other change was to toast the walnuts just slightly before adding them. I definitely prefer walnuts over pine nuts in pesto! Next time I will follow others' suggestions and add a little lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I made this over penne with sausage, but i changed it up a bit. Adding 1/2 a cup of Pecorino, 4 packed cups of basil, and barely over 1/2 a cup of oil. I agree with others, some lemon juice would be a good addition, to keep the basil green and add a brighter flavor. Overall, we liked it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
really a great and easy recipe - made up some pasta with grilled chicken & mushrooms, cold glass of wine - was a perfect dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOJANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
The taste is off, I think there is too much nuts (a quarter to half a cup would probably be enough). I used only 1/2 cup of olive oil and it was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
it is very good, but i agree with others, not as much walnuts and more basil, cheese and garlic. I just added to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 421) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States