Pesto Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I only gave this recipe a 3 because I had to adjust it. Also, even though I know to toast the nuts, a lot of cooks do not. A recipe is only as good as the quality of the ingredients. ie. Olive Oil needs to REALLY be TOP QUALITY or pesto taste nasty; offensive to the pallett. Personally, I use coarse Hawaiian Sea Salt in Pesto or salad dressings. I only used two cloves of glaric and added the EVOO by sight. I add fresh lemon or lime use to retain color. I think it would be nice if the recipes included what brand of olive oil was used to ensure similar or like results. However, I also realize this might not be legally possible due to copy right this and that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I have not tried this yet. I wanted to know if this needs refrigeration and how long it keeps or just jar at room temp Can I also freeze it? I am the only one at home and wanted to make some. I will edit and rate properly at a later date
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Very easy, very tasty! Used the fresh pesto with cream over linguini ...was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth
Living In: Berlin, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I just use this recipe for a rough idea on ingredients; delicious with lots of garlic and roasted roasted pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfast, Maine, USA
Living In: Brooks, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I made this two weeks ago. I had never had pesto before and made this because of an impulse buy of pine nuts at a local farmers market and then doing an ingredient search trying to find a recipe to use them. I still didn't use it right away; I think the color just wasn't appealing. I finally cooked angel hair pasta and added this some of this pesto to it. Amazing. Loved it. I have nothing to compare this to but am making it again today. I cut back a little on the olive oil and toasted the pine nuts at the recommendation of other reviewers. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
It was very good. I made a smaller portion and it came out a bit thick... but that was my fault. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This is the best Pesto ever! I do the same exact recipe at home. Yes, Walnuts are cheaper but I would recommend if you are going to use them instead of the trasitional pine nuts, to roast them lightly in a non stick fry pan until they releases oils and become fragrant. I use roasted pine nuts since I do not like the skins from the walnuts in my pesto. I also use Pecorino Romano cheese if I have it, because I love the more potent cheese flavor. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I followed the recipe as written to a T. I think there is way to many walnuts that is all I tasted. I would not even give it to my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Great alternative to using pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
My son and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 407) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States