Pesto Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
I had a ton of basil that I needed to use up. It doesn't tolerate cold at all, so it's streching it to keep it into October in Minnesota. I was struggling to choose a recipe, so I decided to try three different pesto recipes from this site. In A-typical allrecipes fashion I actually stuck exactly to each recipe so that we could truly judge them fairly. The recipes were Easy Pesto by Rebecca Jane Thompson, Pesto Sauce by Sara, and Simple Garlic and Basil Pesto by FuzzyGreenMonkey. My favorite was Easy Pesto. It had a nice nutty flavor because of the toasted almonds. It's also nice if you don't have much basil on hand because it uses half as much as the other recipes. My husband liked Simple Garlic and Basil Pesto the best, it was my close second. The parmesan cheese and pine nuts really make that recipe. We both agreed that by far our least favorite was Pesto Sauce. It was very bland compared to the other two. I would attribute that to the 1 1/2 cups of walnuts. I would not recommend that recipe at all. It was a fun experiment and the other two recipes will go into my permanant file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
This was incredibly good! I arranged boneless chicken breasts in a 9x13 dish. I coated each breast with the pesto and then layered sliced tomatos on top. Sprinkled on shredded mozzarella and baked. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
797 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mays Landing, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2001
The proportion of ingredients were perfect! And its a relief to know that the more affordable walnut can be used instead of the rather expensive pine nut without casualty. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
421 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
I have loved pesto since I was three and stole a bowl of it off the kitchen table. As long as there is a nut, basil, olive oil, garlic, parmesan cheese and a bit of lemon, it is to die for. The different nuts make whole different tastes, personally, I use walnut because they are so much cheaper. Roasting any nut first in a dry skillet makes the taste even better. I also like to subsitute argula for the basil, and asiago cheese on occasion for a different taste. Lemon basil is good, but sweet basil is the herb leaf that is typically used in pesto sauces. You can make this with less oil, too, and make it a bit better for you- but the extra oil makes it that much smoother. Thanks for the good recipe, Sara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nymbus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
Very good. I didn't have walnuts; so I used pine nuts. I wanted to make it a little less fattening. In place of the 1 cup of olive oil, I used 1/2 cup chicken broth and 1/2 cup olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
This recipe was quite good. I absolutely love garlic, but I found 4 raw cloves to be a bit much, and I was surprised. Maybe next time I'll use 2-3. I used toasted pine nuts instead of walnuts. Expensive but worth it. I also added fresh parmesan and the juice of 1/2 a lemon. I'll definitely make this again. I was concerned about the fat and calorie content as listed on the recipe, but when I made this I came out with around 2 cups of pesto. The recipe says 4 servings, but this pesto is extremely rich. On a smaller-sized bowl of pasta I used like 2 spoonfuls of the sauce - not 1/2 cup - so I doubt I consumed anywhere near the fat and calorie content that was listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
This recipe is incredible! It's the best sauce I've ever had in my life. I make it as often as I can. I grow the basil in my garden so it's extra flavorful. I've reduced the oil from 1 cup to 3/4 cup to thicken the sauce a bit, and I use only 2 cloves of garlic, not 4. TRY THIS RECIPE! You will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Mmm...this was very good. The recipe, as written, makes 2 cups. I used 3 cloves garlic instead of 4, and found it was plenty. A bit of lemon juice mixed in will help prevent browning, if you're freezing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Good recipe! I halved the amount of oil, and tripled the amount of cheese. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Surrey, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
really great basic recipe. i used pine nuts instead of walnuts for more authentic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdagirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 414) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States