Pesto Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Very good! My wife does not like walnuts,..so I started using cashews and almonds ( her favorites) and we really love it that way too! The best! We freeze it in freezer bags, "flattened" and it is a joy in the winter when there is no fresh basil! Also it is wonderful added to ranch dressing, and cream sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I LOVE pesto, I make it all the time! I usually use toasted pecans instead of walnuts and you really don't need that much olive oil, but basically, this is a GREAT recipe! Make your own adjustments and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Good recipe and more authentic than many reviewers here know. pignoli are used in some recipes, BUT walnuts are also traditional with Italian Grandmas. I use much more garlic than in this recipe and more Parmesan, about double. Also good and also traditional are sunflower seeds, hulled of course. The Italian cook made do with whatever ingredients came to hand, which is why I love peasant cuisine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoghat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I did reduce the garlic to two cloves and used canola oil (out of olive oil), but other than that it was very good. My kids even liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
never saw walnuts used should be slightly roasted pine nuts and less oil and more cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I've made this several times. It's so good and so easy - forgiving, too. I don't measure very carefully with this type of recipe. I had 5 cups of basil leaves this time so I added extra of everything and just added oil until it was the right consistency. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
My husband never really liked pesto sauce until I made this one. I added 2 heaping teaspoons of freshly grated Romano cheese, but I think it was the walnuts that made the difference. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Excellent flavor. I used almonds instead of walnuts but otherwise, I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I'm with many of the others. It was way too walnutty. Next time I'll bring the amount down by a lot (1/2c maybe) and up the parm. I ended up with a huge batch because I continued to add basil, garlic, and parm to try to drown out the heavy walnut flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
5 stars because it's easy to customize! I used unsalted sunflower seeds (I washed the salt off); used dried garlic (the flavor just gets bigger after a day) & used grated Romano Cheese. I also used a tiny (tiny!) bit of liquid smoke since I didn't use any salt or pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emme

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 413) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States