Pesto Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
While a good basil pesto is a matter of using the basic ingredients of basil, Parmesan cheese, garlic, olive oil and pine nuts to taste, I agree with those reviewers who commented that there is not enough basil in this recipe! If you DOUBLE the amount of basil and reduce the salt to at most 1/4 tsp. (if any at all) you'll have a perfect basil pesto. Or...make half the recipe, but still use the 2 cups of basil. The conventional wisdom is that if you're going to freeze this that you don't add the Parmesan until you're ready to use the pesto as it supposedly doesn't freeze well. However, I always add the Parmesan right away and have never had a problem. Also, I loved and used Crazy4sushi's idea of freezing this flat in ziploc bags and breaking off pieces as needed. Ingenious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
This is delicious!!! When I buy a bunch of fresh basil, and use the whole thing, my proportions are: 2 cups basil leaves, 3/4 cup parmesan (freshly grated is worth every bit of effort), 3/4 cup olive oil, 1/4 cup pine nuts, 3 garlic cloves (I use the fresh in the jar kind), pepper and salt to taste. My friends, who are chefs, make their pesto about like this, as well as this amazing flat fry bread to dip in the pesto, which is the tastiest thing I've ever had! They use fresh ground flax seed (using a coffee grinder) in the dough. If I get the recipe, I'll share! By the way, this pesto goes great with salmon, even for non fish lovers. I always say this pesto is so good it would make an old shoe test great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruthie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winchester, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Good, but not the definitive pesto recipe. I used one cup basil, 1/2 cup olive oil and zero salt. Good call from previous reviewers about skipping the salt. It was really salty without the extra - I guess my parmesan is saltier than most, but then I used freshly grated cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
another great way of storing this is to freeze in ice cube trays. Then pop out into a ziploc. Then all you have to do is grab a cube!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staciklang

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Excellent recipe!! I took another users suggestion and only added 1/4 tsp salt because I figured I could always add later and didn't need to! My husband is a picky eater and liked this as well!! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
This is the same recipe that is in my Betty Crocker cookbook. I tried it last night (first time ever trying pesto) and my husband and I LOVED it! Used it on some linguine and topped with sliced grilled chicken breasts and some fresh sliced tomatoes. Had a salad on the side and it was perfect! Now I know what I am going to do with all my extra basil. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Sunshine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I am the worse cook ever but I saw this recipe and was curious to see if it tasted good. It is SIMPLY AMAZING. Not only was this recipe EASY but it didn't require alot of ingredients. I love that 2 teaspoons over pasta is more then enough for one portion. I made my 3rd batch last night. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OffRoadGal
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
This is so delicious and simple to make. I spread it on salmon fillets and bake them. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Excellent, though a bit saltier than I like in my pesto. I'll cut the salt down by half the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Yum, yum, & yum! I added a little extra garlic because I can't seem to get enough of it. I'm sure that it freezes well, but none of it made it to my freezer! This was very flavorful and easy and so much better than store bought! Thanks Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States