Pesto Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Really easy and really good. I have made the recipe as written or subbed toasted almonds for the pine nuts/sunflower seeds, and it came out great both ways. Thanks for a simply delicious and deliciously simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Pretty good pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cruisergirl21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Maybe a little less parmesan?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Rehoboth, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
use no salt and added some butter and romano cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This is very good. I would use 1/2 the salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Peck
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I would recommended NOT using salt! Fresh parm is very salty already... just add to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I loved this recipe!! Yummmmmy!! I get bushels of basil at the farmers market so i made a nice sized bushels worth. I added some walnuts to the mix and a little more fresh parmesean cheese. It didn't need it but i did because i love good parmesean cheese. I through all the ingredients into my food processor and Presto.....PESTO :) This was a hit for sure. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by langoria74

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
While a good basil pesto is a matter of using the basic ingredients of basil, Parmesan cheese, garlic, olive oil and pine nuts to taste, I agree with those reviewers who commented that there is not enough basil in this recipe! If you DOUBLE the amount of basil and reduce the salt to at most 1/4 tsp. (if any at all) you'll have a perfect basil pesto. Or...make half the recipe, but still use the 2 cups of basil. The conventional wisdom is that if you're going to freeze this that you don't add the Parmesan until you're ready to use the pesto as it supposedly doesn't freeze well. However, I always add the Parmesan right away and have never had a problem. Also, I loved and used Crazy4sushi's idea of freezing this flat in ziploc bags and breaking off pieces as needed. Ingenious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This was very, very yummy. I have been looking around for a good pesto recipe that was simple and this certainly was. I followed the recipe and would have to agree on cutting the salt in half. It tasted good with the 1/2 tsp, but it was really salty, so I'm thinking 1/4 tsp would work better and cut down on the salt intake. But really really yummy, definately doing it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Osceola, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
sooooo easy and quick!!!! used toasted sesame seeds, as thats what I had in the pantry. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States