Pesto Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Very good pesto! One tip, to make the green color more pronounced and prevent browning from oxidation during storage, blanch the basil in salted water. Submerge in boiling salted water for a few seconds, then run under cold water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This was a very good, quick recipe. I followed it pretty much exact using 2/3 cups of basil tightly packed (before chopping), reduced salt to 1/4 teaspoon and used one large garlic clove, grated parm cheese (didn't have fresh on hand). This recipe yields about 1/2 cup of pesto- enough to toss with pasta or spread on some chicken breasts! Yum! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Easy to make, simple and delicious. I used pine nuts. I froze this into 6 1/4 cup portions to use as I need. I've frozen pesto sauce in the past and it works out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Very good. I added gloves of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SALMONSNAGGER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Wonderfully easy to make. I used sunflower seeds because pine nuts are sooooo expensive over here in Thailand. Roasted the sunflower seeds, doubled the recipe added 40 thousand more cloves of garlic....just because.... Thank you for this recipe....will make again, and again. I believe it's a no fail...you just can't goof this one up. (no salt added, not needed)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMMmmm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This would be a good recipe except for the salt amount. When I made this recipe for 30 servings it asked for way too much salt and practically ruin the recipe. Skip the salt because the parmesan has enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This is a super easy and delicious recipe. By all means do use pine nuts and toast them for more flavor. I used this pesto for a green layer in my home made lasagna and it was absolutely awesome. The first layer was ricotta, the second layer was a meaty home made spaghetti sauce and the third was the pesto layer. it was topped off with grated parmeson and motserella with a sprinkling of dried Italian herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Blue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I had to use a little over 2 cups of basil along with a total of 4 cloves of garlic. Other than that followed the recipe and it turned out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucyford

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I just made this pesto sauce and I loved it. I didn't have sunflower kernels, but instead I added crusted almonds. It is so good! Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States