Pesto Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
too much salt and not enough basil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aislas9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chula Vista, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This is a wonderful pesto sauce, I used basil from my herb garden and tossed a few spinach leaves in as well. Loved the sunflower seeds in the pesto for a nice crunch, especially since pine nuts are so expensive. I loved the sunflower seeds. I also added an extra clove of garlic...you can never have too much garlic :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Great recipe with wonderful flavours. So quick and easy. My variations: lightly toast the pine nuts for more intense nutiness, and use good quality extra virgin olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Excellent! Mixed with Penne and sun-dried tomatoes, sprinkled with shredded parmesan and romano cheeses. Next time I make this, I might put a little less parmesan cheese in the pesto, or maybe at a tad more oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Excellent first experience with pesto. I am hooked. Although I never have had pine-nuts, the sunflower kernels were still great in this. It was very nice to offer an alternative to the $20/pound pine-nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Delicious and straightforward recipe, made per directions and it came out great! (But now I plan to try it with other greens in various ratios!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forestville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This was amazing! I put it on chicken and served it with mushrooms and some rice. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I used this in the Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli. Omitted the pine nuts or sunflower kernals since I had none. Still a great Pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bluebird

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Amazing!!! I made bruschetta with it and I couldn't stop eatting it :) The whole family loved the pesto sauce. Thanks for sharing the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Basic peston. I blanched the basil as suggested by others. I thought it a little dry & added oil to make it a total of 1/2 cup. And I used only 1/4 tsp salt. Very versitle recipe. The 2nd time I made it using walnut oil. Very yummy. I have also tried macadamia nut oil. Also yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICTORIANSPICE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States