Pesto Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Very good basic pesto recipe! I cut the salt down after reading other reviews. Tossed with pasta and added sun dried tomatoes as another reviewer suggested. Thanks for the recipe! I'm going to try it with sunflower kernels next time to see how that tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This is a little more oily than I'm used to, but still tastes good. Cut the salt ant it is still delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
easy and delicious. I used pine nuts, but would love to experience this w sunflower kernals. Anyone try that yet (I should read the reviews cause I'm sure someone has).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jakiselwyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
The taste of this pesto is delish and I would definitely make it again ... however, unless I'm missing something, there's NO WAY what I yielded could serve 4 people. More like 1-2 servings. I put it over about 1 cup cooked pasta and that's what I'm having for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I loved this recipe. I also like the idea of freezing it since I have a ton of basil this year in my garden! After I started making it, I realized that I didn't have any pine nuts or sunflower seeds so instead I substituted roasted lightly salted edamame. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I love this really easy recipe and just can't get over how much better making it fresh is than getting it from a jar. I've made this a few times, both using the recipe as is and taking others' suggestions. The As Is is my favorite way. Has the best flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Stone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
A very good recipe. I had never made pesto, but decided to give it a try. I used walnuts instead of pine nuts and also added about half as much cilantro as basil. I put very little salt, but a little more olive oil, because of the addition of the cilantro. It turned out fabulous. I will do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Made this with some basil from the garden and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
It definitely has too much salt and not enough basil. With previous reviewers advice I doubled the basil and halved the salt for my second batch, this time it was absolutely 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamers9050
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I picked some basil tonight with no real plans so I just went to allrecipes and tried the first pesto recipe that came up. I didn't eat with pasta yet but I tried it with a cracker and it was delicious, maybe just a little heavy on the salt. And I skipped the pine nuts because I don't have any. UPDATE: waaay too much salt. I tried heating this up and eating it with tortellini but it was so salty I couldn't eat it. I don't think the salt came from the pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lansing, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States