Pesto Polenta Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Very smart base recipe! Polenta works wonderfully as a substitute for noodles, and makes the meal lighter and let the other ingredients used stand with their own flavors. I did mine in this order: layer of polenta, layer of pesto, layer of fresh spinach, layer of onions (1/2 of a white) and fresh tomatoes (about 7 romas), layer of ricotta cheese, layer of sauce, next layer of polenta,layer of mozzarella, then topped with pinenuts and fresh parmesean! It was fantastic and I may never eat noodle lasagna again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
332 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
Very tasty. I improvised a bit. I pre-baked the polenta to crisp it up a bit. I also added fresh spinach, fresh toms, onions, and red bell peppers. Will make again and maybe improvise some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
This was excellent! I used pizza sauce (that's all I had on hand), sauteed spinach and onion in some olive oil and layered that over the pesto, then added cottage cheese (again, that's all I had on hand), then sauce, polenta and more sauce. Before assembling the lasagna, I sprayed the polenta with Pam and baked it for about 8 mins, then put it under the broiler for about 5 mins each side. That helped with the consistency, I think. And I sprayed my pan with Pam instead of olive oil. This was delicious and I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
This is a great alternative to using pasta. I purchased pre-cooked polenta but it was expensive and didn't provide me enough to make 2 layers unless I sliced the rounds thin. Next time, I'll make the polenta myself-it's easy and much cheaper. I sauteed garlic, onions, zucchini and mushrooms, mixed them into some ricotta and added that as an additional layer. The pine nuts on top provide the perfect finishing touch. Yumm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
My best friend is allergic to wheat and gluten. Polenta lasagna is one of our favorite main dishes to share at dinner parties, since all us wheat-eaters love it too. I've made variations with spianch, sun-dried tomatoes, itallian sausage, and ricotta - the dish lends itself very nicely to variations and is suprisingly quick to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Excellent. Delicious. Followed directions exactly except that my portions were off a bit: 16 ounces polenta; 32 ounces marinara (still used half). Plus, served as a main dish, would not serve eight...at least not in my household. My sixteen-ounce tube of purchased polenta stated four total servings on the nutritional label and that is what this casserole comfortably serves: four. We had a tossed Greek-style salad and green beans on the side. We will definitely have this again. We would like to try adding some veggies to make a total one dish meal: zucchini; onions; tomatoes; peppers?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Simple and deliscious. My one complaint is that the recipe calls for all pre-made ingredients (not always available). I made my own polenta (maise and water) and tomato sauce with spices. Since pre-made pesto is so expensive where I live, I dosed the tomatoe sauce with a lot of basil! Otherwise, polenta as a substitute for pasta is a great idea and a healthy alternative. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I'm pretty sure I used too much pesto (oops!) and the result was extremely oily. If using store bought pesto, be sure to mix well or even skim the oil off before using. This would have been great otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
I have made this twice, so quick to put together and nice flavor. Have had several requests for the recipe. Lends itself nicely to add-ins ... mushrooms, sun-dried tomatoes ... nice recipe, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
We loved this, too - it satisfied our non-vegetarian family and our two toddlers quite well. I sauteed some garlic, onion, mushrooms and fresh spinach together, added it to some ricotta and shredded parmesan cheese and added that layer just before the second layer of polenta. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pesto Polenta Lasagna

See how to make delicious pesto and polenta lasagna.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Hearty Vegetable Lasagna

Layers of flavors make this 5-star lasagna a hearty hit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States