Pesto Polenta Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
As many of the other reviews have said, this was a great base recipe. I added sauteed mushrooms with garlic above each layer of sauces, also, I used the cheese in all the layers, not just on top. For the top layer of cheese (with the pine nuts) I added some fresh grated parmesan. Overall, lovely dish when you add some extra veggies and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maude s.
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Polenta rocks. I love using it in baked dishes as a replacement for noodles. Although I altered this recipe to suite my taste it is still a very good base recipe. Particularly good with Jo's Rosemary Bread from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maude s.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
surprisingly good for how simple! i added some mushrooms also, and as i was eating it was thinking that some prosciutto would taste great in it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tastebud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This was very tasty! You can make it a bit cheaper by making you our polenta! I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khask

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This was awesome!!! I didn't have any pine nuts, but they probably would have been great to add some crunch, I'll have to make sure I have some on hand next time. I did add a layer of baby bella mushrooms because my hubby and I both love mushrooms and I had them in the fridge for a while and they needed to be used...mushrooms make everything better :-) Thanks so much for a great recipe. I think next time I'm going to try to make my own polenta too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Delicious. Between the two layers of polenta, I added large chunks of onion, spinach, and more mozzarella. I used a three cheese pasta sauce. Tasted fantastic and was super easy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Very easy and tasty, and the kids loved it. I smashed up the polenta instead of slicing it, making it a little more like a casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I absolutely love this recipe, and I've made it several times! Today I added sauteed shrimp and sundried tomatoes. I put the shrimp in with a little more sauce and mozzarella cheese and then put in under the broil for 6 mins. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I made this unique twist on Lasagna with some of the suggestion by Maezystar (thanks)layering polenta, onions, spinach, pesto, tomatoes...of course cheeses and pine nuts and then, baked it on my new gas grill! it was incredible receiving rave reviews from all my family several of which are not vegetarians! tasty alternative to pasta~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Delicious and simple, if not particularly healthy. Once it finished cooking, I tilted the pan as much to one side as I could without the contents sliding (glass Pyrex dish of prescribed size) and then used a paper towel to sop up the oil from the one side it had all poured towards. Probably tells you something about store-bought vs. fresh pesto, amounts of oil in them?!?! Might try just pulsing basil & garlic in a blender instead, with a titch of oil...it's cheaper that way, too. Did the baking-polenta-5-mins-each-side trick, too. Good texture. My sauce had mushrooms, fresh basil and garlic in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Polenta Lasagna

See how to make delicious pesto and polenta lasagna.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States