Pesto Polenta Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Very smart base recipe! Polenta works wonderfully as a substitute for noodles, and makes the meal lighter and let the other ingredients used stand with their own flavors. I did mine in this order: layer of polenta, layer of pesto, layer of fresh spinach, layer of onions (1/2 of a white) and fresh tomatoes (about 7 romas), layer of ricotta cheese, layer of sauce, next layer of polenta,layer of mozzarella, then topped with pinenuts and fresh parmesean! It was fantastic and I may never eat noodle lasagna again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
336 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Very tasty, meatless main dish. Easy to make. Whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpine, Texas, USA
Living In: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
This turned out pretty good, but I made a few changes. I didn't have any marinara sauce, so I just layered the polenta with the pesto and fresh tomatoes. I also used a small amount of romano cheese in addition to the mozzarella. It was tasty, but I think next time I will make sure to have some pine nuts and marinara on hand. Also, be careful when oiling the dish so as not to create too much excess when baking. At least olive oil is good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
Very tasty. I improvised a bit. I pre-baked the polenta to crisp it up a bit. I also added fresh spinach, fresh toms, onions, and red bell peppers. Will make again and maybe improvise some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
This dish is great because it is quick and simple to make. I have made it three times and served it to people with completely different tastes and they all loved it. The third time I made it I added mushrooms, italian seasoning, and red pepper flakes to the sauce to give it a little more flavor. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I used Arrabbiata sauce, which added a little spiciness. I thought this was an excellent main dish particularly given its simplicity. My husband liked the pesto/Arrabbiata mixture, but not the polenta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I really liked this. I made my own polenta with herbs and assembled the lasagna the night before making it. I'm lazy so I sauted some onions, garlic, and zucchini (per other reviewers) and mixed in the pesto, the sauce, and some ricotta. I made layers of cheese as well as putting some parmesan on top with the pine nuts. I didn't broil and it was still golden and tasty. Next time I will probably not use the nuts, they didn't do much for me other than add a little crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
Wonderful recipe! My roommate is vegetarian and I'm not, but we both loved this meal! I left out the pine nuts and it was still delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
My husband and I loved it. I added muchrooms, red onions and turkey sausage. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori In Ct

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by coblue
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
The polenta is a great alternative to lasagna. I added onion, mushrooms and sun-dried tomatoes to give some extra flavor. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Polenta Lasagna

See how to make delicious pesto and polenta lasagna.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States