Pesto Polenta Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I'm pretty sure I used too much pesto (oops!) and the result was extremely oily. If using store bought pesto, be sure to mix well or even skim the oil off before using. This would have been great otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
I have a gluten allergy and haven't been able to eat lasagne, my favorite food, in 7 years. I was delighted to find this recipe and absolutely loved it. My friends and family, who are able to eat anything they please, loved it as much as I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLIOOP109

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Because I wasn't able to find polenta in my grocery store, I substituted gnocchi for this recipe and it came out wonderfully! I added some spinach to the layers (thanks for the suggestions fellow allrecipers). My recommendation is the following: If you're going to use premade pesto, make sure to drain the excess olive oil out of it first. Otherwise, the oils from the cheese and the pesto become very...how do you say...ah yes, overwhelming. I will totally make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This was so yummy & delicious. I made the polenta & marinara sauce from scratch, but it was still ready quickly. I will be making this again, perhaps adding veggies to the sauce as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
This recipe has become my family's favorite! It is SO delicious and super simple to make after a hard day at work. I use Paul Newman's Cabernet Marinara sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
So, so, SOOO good! Easy to make and very filling! I made my own polenta and added ricotta cheese between the layers -- YUM! This recipe is definitely a keeper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canon City, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Very smart base recipe! Polenta works wonderfully as a substitute for noodles, and makes the meal lighter and let the other ingredients used stand with their own flavors. I did mine in this order: layer of polenta, layer of pesto, layer of fresh spinach, layer of onions (1/2 of a white) and fresh tomatoes (about 7 romas), layer of ricotta cheese, layer of sauce, next layer of polenta,layer of mozzarella, then topped with pinenuts and fresh parmesean! It was fantastic and I may never eat noodle lasagna again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
332 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Very tasty, meatless main dish. Easy to make. Whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpine, Texas, USA
Living In: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
This turned out pretty good, but I made a few changes. I didn't have any marinara sauce, so I just layered the polenta with the pesto and fresh tomatoes. I also used a small amount of romano cheese in addition to the mozzarella. It was tasty, but I think next time I will make sure to have some pine nuts and marinara on hand. Also, be careful when oiling the dish so as not to create too much excess when baking. At least olive oil is good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
Very tasty. I improvised a bit. I pre-baked the polenta to crisp it up a bit. I also added fresh spinach, fresh toms, onions, and red bell peppers. Will make again and maybe improvise some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pesto Polenta Lasagna

See how to make delicious pesto and polenta lasagna.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Hearty Vegetable Lasagna

Layers of flavors make this 5-star lasagna a hearty hit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States