Pesto Pasta with Green Beans and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Several years ago I spent time in Italy with my Italian friend when she went home to visit. While there we visited her friend in Liguria and was served this dish as it is very popular in that region. I loved it and make it often in the summer when I have so much fresh basil from the garden. I make it the way it was prepared in Italy. I boil the pasta, add the potatoes to the pasta during the last six minutes of boiling, and then add the green beans to the water during the last three minutes. Everything is drained and the pesto added and tossed. I didn't use the yogurt but that might be an interesting addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I made this with angel hair, and replaced the yogurt with light sour cream. Also added in mushrooms. Girlfriend is a PESTO FREAK and LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Kat, you've got a 5-star recipe here! I thought it was a delicious blend of flavor that I would be proud to serve guests. I didn't have any prepared pesto, although I do have LOTS of Lime Basil in my garden, so just used that in the yogurt sauce. I added walnuts and sauteed them in butter along with the potatoes and green beans as directed. Used just a bit of sugar with the yogurt to balance the tang. It's tasty to eat and pretty to look at!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
It's more tangy than expected, probably the yogurt. I made this for a couple of friends and got mixed reviews. It wasn't a "yummy" dish... it was more an "ok" dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I love this website and use it a lot. I've been irritated more than once when there is a long string of people who have rated a recipe really high and then someone gives it a one star - I just don't see how that can happen. You should have a sense of what you're getting when you try a recipe and if it has things about it which you know you don't care for (eg, it's spicy and you like bland)- then don't bother cause you're going in with a negative attitude. Well, this is a long way of saying I reallllly did not care for this recipe - and I don't know why. It is adventuresome - interesting mix of ingredients, all of which I like individually. Partly I think it was the potatoes - their texture was weird with all the other ingredients. I used frozen green beans and I added some chunks of white chicken meat - other than that, followed exactly as written. This just did not work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This was amazing, but of course there were some slight alterations I made. I followed the recipe to the T except when it came to a few little things. I followed the reviews of some of the others and used sour cream (me and yogurt never got along well) and mushrooms which I roasted. Seeing as how I have a carnivor for a husband I through in some chopped up ready to serve bacon and then topped it with goat cheese instead of parmasian cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This was just delicious!!! After seeing another reviewers suggestion, I added about a tsp of sugar when mixing the final ingredients together. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristinaW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chehalis, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Was just ok. Good but we didn't feel it was anything special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Perfect! I added a tiny bit of lemon. Mine is way more green than in the photo. Absolutely perfect for summer!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made this for Meatless Monday. It was perfect. I used fat free plain Greek yogurt. I may double the yogurt/pesto next time. It was yummy and everyone including the kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Potato Pesto Pizza

See how to make a flavor-packed potato and pesto pizza.

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States