Pesto Hamburgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
We really enjoyed this recipe. My picky 6 year old loved it!!! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Oh, wow, was this good! I made fresh pesto with basil and parsley from my garden, fresh garlic, olive oil, freshly grated parmesan cheese and some raw cashews (no pine nuts). Grilled the strips of sweet red pepper. Stacked the burgers with melted cheese on the toasted rolls, added the pepper strips and the pesto and everyone raved about it being better than ones in the fancy restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I love pesto and it works very well on burgers, however they weren't anything exceptional. I would certainly make them again, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom2aMunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Great burgers! I used "simple garlic and basil pesto" from this site and my husband said it was the best burger he had ever had. I seasoned the meat with hamburger seasoning. I also got green pepper instead of red because they taste the same but don't cost as much. I used provolone cheese because that's what I had. I also recommend spreading some mayo onto the buns. It was fantastic! I cooked the burgers in the broiler, took them out, spread on pesto, topped with slice of cheese and put them back in the broiler for a minute to melt the cheese. Then topped with the peppers, which I sauteed in a pan with some olive oil for a couple minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I didn't use the red peppers, as I am not a fan of them -- but this is a great recipe. Prepared pesto works wonderful. It'd be nice if there was a "recommended" prepared pesto brand for this specific recipe, as I am sure many of the reviews are based on different pestos. That can "make or break" the recipe! For a little extra fun, add a little bit of pesto to the burger while mixing the meat getting more of the spices than oil. Makes it very flavorful throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
did not expect to be this good, but was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I made these hamburgers the other day, they were so so maybe because I used jar pesto instead of homemade I was dissappointed gonna try again with homemade or different type of pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I loved this recipe. I used bison instead of ground beef. I also added a little garlic and salt and pepper to the meat...so yummy. I put the pesto on under the cheese and it was great. My husband loved this too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
While this will probably never take the place of the classic American burger in anyone's mind, it still was simply delicious and bursting with flavor. Rather than roasted peppers, I just sauteed fresh red bell peppers, and used good, crusty hard rolls--and toasting them was an important component of this "gourmet" hamburger. I went a little lighter on the pesto than the recipe called for and was not disappointed. The next time I make these I'm anxious to try mixing the pesto with mayonnaise for a creamier, more subtle flavor. Thanks for sharing your creative idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Excellent recipe! I made this recipe to the letter. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States