Pesto Grilled Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2015
This grill cheese sandwich is a twist to the basic version and so easy to make! The possibilities are endless. I used what I had on hand. I already had some garlic butter made in the fridge for garlic bread, so I used that with wheat bread, tomato, provolone cheese, italian blend cheese, and pesto. Next time I am going to use sun dried tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brazil, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
Husband RAVED and he is normally quite disdainful of sandwiches for main dish. I used homemade egg bread instead of italian bread, and I used homemade pesto, but this recipe gave me the idea of putting pesto inside! I also used a layer of mayonnaise which meshed with the pesto as it melted in the pan with the cheese inside the sandwich. For cheese, I used three slices of cheddar to one slice of fresh mozz. Oh it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EllenSallas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millbrook, Alabama, USA
Living In: Clanton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
One of my favorite meals in the world is swiss, tomato, and hot mustard grilled cheese, on marble rye. This pesto version is now another favorite. Italian bread, mozzarella, tomato, and pesto grilled cheese, with a little butter - it is SO delicious. Five ingredients, five minutes, it's more than the sum of its parts. I, too, made and froze pesto in an ice cube tray and this is a good way to use it. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
I think most anything made with homemade Pesto has to be good, but this sandwich was DELICIOUS! I just planted two more basil plants so I can make more of these. I'm glad I found this recipe. BTW, I used wheat bread rather than the Italian bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Very adaptable with cheeses. The biggest challenge is balancing the flavors... there is no exact formula but it's fun trying to find one :) I agree with another reviewer about not overdoing the pesto... either apply it to just one slice of bread, or else apply fairly thin layers to both slices. I'd also recommend going for thin (~1/4") tomato slices. Again, it's all about hitting the right balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
What a great twist on Grilled Cheese I also added bacon and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
The American cheese makes it! I also used extra pesto on my sandwich. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
It was really good. I had only Swiss and pepperjack but the 1 slice of the pepperjack put a slight bit of punch without messing with the pesto. I almost always make grilled cheese with tomato so this was just a different twist. When I make my normal gc&t sammie I use cojack and make sure i grill it slowly and with a lid on the griddle like we did in the diner I used to work in. Oddly enought gc&t is fantastic with prepared mustard. Something about mustard and sharp cheeses. I also lightly salt the crispy sandwich just to get a bit of salty taste when you bite the sandwich. Its all yummy. I could open my own grilled cheese restaurant lol Thanks for this nice twist for my future menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
I would've never thought of it - and it was sooo good! I had French bread, provolone, medium cheddar, tomatoes and pesto. Grilled cheese perfection! Thank you for posting such a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
Definitely omit the American cheese, and use half the pesto. I used fontina and DID grill it in butter! The result was a very rich and full flavored grilled cheese, Italian style!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States