Pesto, Goat Cheese, and Sun-dried Tomatoes Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
This was very good. I made it with 1% milk and didn't miss the half and half. I put some sundried tomatoes on top of the cheese and also some on top of the egg mixture. I highly recommend using the goat cheese rather than another kind, as the goat cheese imparts a very distinct flavor that can stand up to the strong flavors of pesto and sundried tomatoes. I also recommend reducing the heat down to 375F as at 400F, the crust was very brown before the eggs were set, I had to tent the crust with foil. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I couldn't find sun-dried tomatoes a the grocery across the street so I just used sun-dried tomato pesto. It worked really well. The flavors really worked and it was really easy. I didn't measure out the goat cheese or the pesto. I just used what I wanted. I also added a little spinach because I like the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forestville, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I made this for Easter brunch. It was a huge hit.I made it with milk instead of cream, low fat cheese and sun-dried tomatoes without oil that I had blanched. It was still wonderful, we never missed the extra calories. (with all the chocolate, I needed something easier on the waistline.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOMESTICGODDESS36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ayton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I made this for a Pi-Day party and everyone LOVED it! I made a few slight changes. I didn't measure the pesto, but I made a thick layer of it on the bottom. I used a 4oz package of goat cheese crumbles. I stir fried about a cup of chopped onions and mushrooms until just soft to put in with the eggs. So it wouldn't overflow, I only used 2 eggs and 1/3 cup of half and half. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bekkah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Added pine nuts the first time, and it was very very good. But the next time, I eliminated the pesto as I felt 4 flavors were too much. I like the goat cheese, sun-dried tomato and pine nuts combo. Agreed about no need to measure these additions as written by another reviewer. Do what you like which is frustrating advice for a beginner. Follow the recipe and then decide which flavor you wish to push forward more or less or a balance. Trust yourself and you'll learn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Economy, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Wow. This packed so much flavor. It was a huge hit. The goat cheese complemented the other flavors so well. I did add more pesto and more goat cheese because I used a deep-dish pie crust. The only thing I would recommend is pre-baking the crust. The bottom of the crust practically disintegrated under the weight of everything else, but the dish was still phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Decadent but worth the splurge. Very flavorful! A different quiche recipe that got rave reviews at my Mother's Day brunch. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaeMama71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winslow, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Absolutely fantastic. Here's how I personalized it: added a diced tomato in with the egg mixture, used feta instead of goat cheese, put as much pesto as I wanted to cover the pie crust, used an awesome whole wheat pie crust, and added some fresh sliced basil from my garden sprinkled on top. YUMMERS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
The flavors in this quiche are excellent. What's not good to say about Pesto, cheese and sun dried tomatoes! If we were making it again I might bake the pastry blind as the pesto made the base a little soggy. Also as suggested we used 2% instead of the cream. Overall a smashing recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tantuc
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I loved this quiche. My family, though found the taste of goat cheese overpowering. I baked it in regular pie crust and deep dish (with increae in ingredients, of course). And I used 1% milk. Worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States