Pesto Del Sol Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
FYI: According to Jacques Pepin on one of his TV shows, if you blanche the basil briefly it will not oxidize and therefore will retain its green color. I would imagine this would hold true for the spinach as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2001
My hubby and I thought this recipe was delicious. Its fast, easy, and much lighter than a regular pesto sauce. I forgot the olives but it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
I thought this was a great variation on typical basil pesto. Sometimes I find the basil and pine nuts too strong. The spinach and walnuts mellowed it out and the olives were a nice addition. I only had parmesan cheese so did not use romano. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
Great stuff! Love the variation with the black olives and spinach. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALPURV

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kat228
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
This is a wonderful pesto. The addition of black olives added another dimension. I followed the recipe exactly except I used aged gouda cheese instead of the Romano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
Easy and tasty! My family loves this pesto version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATLOVERGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gobles, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
A recipe worthy of more than five stars!! This is OUTSTANDING!! Thanks for posting this recipe; it's my new standard go-to for pesto sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
My husband hates olives...so I made this pesto and let him try it and he said it was the best pesto I've made, and trust me, I've made alot of pestos...and then I told him there were olives in it...the look on is face was priceless....and in the next breath he asked for more...AWESOME PESTO!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEENIE MARIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
i love this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Excellent! Tried this for the first time with the Pesto Tuna Salad with Sun-Dried Tomatoes recipe on this site, resulting in an unusual and very tasty dish that was a hit at our house. I used about half the cheese called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Chef John's Arugula Pesto

See how to make pesto with peppery, full-flavored arugula instead of basil.

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States