Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
The sauce for this is awesome. I used 4 oz pesto and added a couple teaspoons of sugar. We like sweeter sauces. I decided to just use spinach and not the chicken. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Great family meal! I have made this dish three times in the last month, and the beauty of it is that you can "tweak" it every time and it's still delish! The first time I made it, I subbed tomato paste for crushed tomatoes as had an open can in the fridge--family loved it! Second time, used diced tomatoes and different cheese--another hit! Tonight, I actually used crushed tomatoes, but for the cheese I used a combo of mozarella, provolone, guida and parmesan, and added a little more spinach--family again fell all over themselves getting seconds! The only thing I've done consistently is halve the recipe, because it does make alot! And, I make my own pesto in the summer and freeze it in golf-ball size servings-and one of them seems to be just perfect. My family thanks you for posting such a great, pantry-adaptable recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This casserole is so good everyone loved it and it does make alot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This was great. I used fresh tomatoes instead of crushed, and I did not use the afrado sauce. I recommend this recipe to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I wanted to try something different. I typed in "chicken cassarole" into the search feature and this recipe popped up. I thought it sounded really unique and different. It was. Really really great dish. My family loved it! (and take Linda's instruction to heart...this made ALOT!) I followed the recipe pretty close except...my local store didnt have pesto so I dumped some chopped basil with a dribble of olive oil and garlic in. I also lightly floured and sauteed the chicken (which added to the overall flavor). I also spiced it up with some cayenne pepper. I asked my family if they liked it enough for me to make it again and the answer was a resounding YES PLEASE!!! Thanks for sharing Linda...*smile*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Buffalo, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Delish! I didn't have Italian cheese blend, but I don't think it really needs it with all the Alfredo sauce. This was easy enough for me and made enough food for 3 people and lunch leftovers plus some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I made this exactly to the recipe and it was a hit with my husband and teen-aged son (and me) - thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This was really good! I used less pesto and added more spinach. Easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I love this recipe!!! I didn't want to use store bought pesto because I had basil growing outside so I used another recipe on this site - Spinach Basil Pesto. It worked out perfectly because I needed spinach for this one AND that one. I followed both exactly except for adding 4 oz. of Portabello mushrooms to the pasta mix. I do have to say that I cut the pasta recipe in half and one normal prep. of the pesto. I will be giving 5 stars to that recipe too. WOW, what a fantastically great meal !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Followed recipe the best I could. Didn't have alfredo sauce, or, Italian cheese mix... so I just skipped the alfredo and used shredded mozzarella, instead. It was AWESOME, totally healthy, and I am glad I skipped the alfredo for hubby's sake with high cholesterol. Last, I only had Panko bread crumbs, instead of bread crumbs, but they worked great. Next time I will shop before, and try it the way it was written. Kudos to the gal that posted this... It's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States