Pesto Cheesy Chicken Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
Mmmmm...this was great! I followed the directions; pounded the chicken, put in the pesto and cheese then rolled them. The only think I did different was that after they were rolled, I dipped them in egg and rolled them in breadcrumbs. They came out moist and delicious after about 45 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
370 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I have made this several times, each time it gets better and better, I have made a few changes ( not that it needed it!) but I soak the chicken in olive oil and Italian spices over night, and then after I have rolled it up I cover it in Italian bread crumbs! I serve it over fettuccine and top with a sun dried tomato Alfred sauce! And it is out of this world!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
311 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by New Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Fantastic! I took someone else's advice and just covered the chicken breasts with pesto, then mozz. Covered with foil for 20 minutes, then uncovered and returned to the over for 10 minutes. Came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
310 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Kisco, New York, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I was in a hurry to quickly get something in the oven the other night when I got home from work late, so I did not take the time to pound the breasts out flat. Insted, I just spooned a couple tblsps of the basil pesto over each breast, and then topped them with nice big slices of good quality motzza. I covered the baking dish with foil, and baked them at 350 for about 20 mins. I then uncovered them, and baked them for about 5-10 mins longer, and that browned the cheese nicly, while still keeping the chicken SUPER moist and yummy. Will deffinetly do this again. Thanks for the good idea! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Simply delicious, and definitely worth making your own pesto for, which I handily had in the freezer. I used shredded mozzarella rather than the slices because it was easier to roll up, and added some chopped sun-dried tomatoes. Perfectly roasted, cooked through and tender at 375 degrees, about 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
This was very good...but make sure you lightly season the chicken breast ..i just seasoned with some salt, pepper and garlic powder. And just a note to all: boneless chicken breast doesn't take long to cook. I baked in 375 degree preheated oven for about 15-20 minutes. That's all the time you need. Someone posted that they had to cook the meat almost an hour. I'm trying to figure how the chicken breast can still be moist after baking that long. Otherwise, this was very nice and if i don't feel like going through the hassle of rolling the chicken up...I just flattened with mallet....topped (seasoned) breast with pesto then cheese and then topped with another flattened chicken breast. Next I'll try with the jarred sundried tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COZY CUISINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
These are simply delicious and so easy! To make them easier to roll I used shredded mozzarella cheese and added sun-dried tomatoes for a little color and a little added flavor (not that it needs any). To prevent the pesto and cheese from leaking out dip the rolls into egg and then italian style bread crumbs. These were done in 35 minutes at 350. Very moist and a nice presentation. It looks like you spent hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This was delicious, and I am a picky eater! I used nice thick mozzarella cheese slices. The only suggestion I would make is seasoning the chicken with salt and pepper, and after it is in the oven for about 15 minutes, using a pastry brush and brushing the tops of the chicken rolls with the oils that ooze out of the rolls. The oils are garlic infused from the pesto and it give the chicken an amazing flavor and keeps it from drying out. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
This was a big hit at our house.I did a little tweaking though....I used sundried tomato pesto and shredded cheese instead of sliced. I topped it with shake and bake crumbs.Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe. It's simple an quick to make. I pounded my chicken flat, seasoned one side with salt, pepper and garlic powder and then spread the pesto on the unseasoned side. I only cooked the chicken for 30 minutes, at 350, and it was perfect. I served it with Garlic Parmesan Orzo (also from this site) and stewed tomatoes. This is definitely going to be served again when I need to make something quick for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 559) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Chicken Pesto Pizza

Presto, it’s pesto! Enjoy a quick-and-easy chicken pesto pizza.

Chicken Pesto Paninis

These sandwiches make a tasty, easy weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States