Peruvian Style Beer Can Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
Didn't have onion salt and added garlic powder but followed everything else as instructed. Wishing my sister was here as she is the chicken skin eater and would love this. Meat very moist and nicely seasoned. Will definitely make again. I set pan under chicken and cooked zucchini marinaded in Italian dressing as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
I made this for company tonight and it was a huge hit! So moist and delicious. I did it in the oven for two and a half hours on 250 for a 5# chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADFORGOLD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
Delicious! If I were to change anything, it would be to let the chicken sit an hour or more in the water bath. Ten minutes seems to be a little to short
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I made this last night for my husband. We both LOVED it. The only change I made was that I cooked in the oven. I started it at 475 degrees for 15 minutes and then finished it at 375 degrees. When done, I deglazed the pan with the beer and added beef bouillon and flour slurry to make a gravy to use with the leftovers. So beautiful and tasty! Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Made this last night and it came out fantastic! I did follow another person's advise and let the chicken brine for two hours and then when I did the marinade I went ahead and did it overnight. Followed the cooking directions exactly using my cast iron chicken cooker (from Emeril Lagasse's collection). Will certainly be making this again. My fiancee does not care for chicken but loved this preperation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COD3ELF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gila Bend, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Having lived in Peru for many years, one of my favorite dishes was Pollo a la Brasa...finally I can make it here! I followed the recipe, but did not have beer for the paste and I think you can do with out. Since we just got our BBQ with the rotisserie attachment I used it and after 2 hours at about 350 F, it was perfectly done! A tip for those who don´t want to keep smelling the spices after you rubbed it all over the chicken- use disposable gloves! I use them often in the kitchen, specially when handling chicken. I made white steamed rice with garlic peruvian style and it was gone. My boys loved it, even the picky one. The chicken was very moist and tasty. Next time I may use a little less salt in the paste, since I brined it overnight. I willll make this again for sure, probably 3 chickens at a tiime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silvina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Husband thought it was excellent. I was expecting it to be more moist. Maybe the can opening was covered by skin or something, but the beer did not evaporate like I expected. Seasonings were great, though. Will try again, and punch more holes in top of can next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Made this without rosemary as we hate rosemary and this was DELICIOUS. Brined the chicken for about 2 hours but forgot to poke holes - poked holes and let it sit for another half hour. BTW, an olive-pic that you use for martinis works really well as a hole poker! Followed the instructions for the Drunk Chicken recipe on this site in terms of skewering to keep the can in - GENIUS! Didn't have time to let it sit in the rub very long and hope to have more time next time. We have a gas grill, and needed to light the left two burners (one was a searing burner and one was a regular burner), and then put the chicken to the right as much as we could. It was the only way we could get to 350 in our grill. I heard it was better than Super Pollo (the best in the DC metro area)...hopefully with a longer bath in the rub, I will agree next time, but it was really, really good. With this small of a chicken, I was able to bring this in a resealable bag, with as much air squished out as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Outstanding! I made this exactly as written. Wouldn't change a thing. THIS is the way beer can chicken should ALWAYS be made! From this point on, it will be in my house! Ridiculous! Update... I made this again today. I had an 8 1/2 lb roaster which wasn't a good choice for putting on the grill/beer can. I, instead did everything the recipe called for BUT I put it into a cooking bag and roasted it in the oven. I got the EXACT same results! I thought that the skin would not be crispy, but it was! Sooooo, if you don't have a grill, DEFINITELY try roasting it in the oven! Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Janet Henderson
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Really good flavors and it was moist and tender. We loved it. Followed the recipe to the tee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States