Peruvian Lomo Saltado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Easy to follow with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Maybe it was because I used frozen french fries, but it's not like any lomo saltado I've ever had. I've done this recipe a couple of times--some with the modifications that are in other reviews, but it still doesn't taste right to me. This last time, my husband and I added way more soy sauce (closer to actual flavour), then we added stir fry sauce (and that really helped quite a bit!!). I'm a little disappointed, and I must say, I'm still waiting for the right lomo saltado recipe to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petitemousie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I also used pureed cilantro instead of parsley. I season the meat with just a little Adobo instead of salt and pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bwight
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I used chicken instead. Very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Love the recipe!! Very authentic. I read the reviews and decided to go with the ore Ida steak fries and it turned out just as good as if I had prepared the fries myself. I used Spanish onions and no aji (even though I'm Peruvian, I don't do spicy...go figure). Marinated the meat as in the reviews and I do think it made a difference from the first time I cooked this recipe. This recipe is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicky1226
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
It was really good! I did marinate the meat with garlic , red wine vinegar , soy sauce and some white wine vinegar for about 45 minutes before cooking. You will definitely end up needing a little bit more than a "dash " of soy sauce. In the end , after i placed the rice in a measuring cup to give it a nice shape , I took a tablespoon of soy sauce and put it in the rice , for some extra flavor. Also , I cooked the fries until crispy and just mixed it in the plate with the food, I never actually mixed it with the steak, to avoid them becoming soggy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SouthernGalNPeru
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I am an American living in Lima, Peru, and I learned a lot about this dish from a Peruvian friend that cooked it for me. Since she doesn't use written recipes with measurements, I looked one up to combine these ideas with her suggestions. As others have said, marinate the meat before you cook it. I marinated beef tenderloin with red wine vinegar (some use red wine for this), soy sauce, pressed garlic cloves, cumin, oregano, salt, and black pepper. As others have mentioned, this dish is always cooked here in Peru with red onion. I soaked my onion in some water and vinegar to lessen the onion flavor since they are quite strong here. I do recommend taking out the seeds of the tomatoes (I used Roma) because that can add extra liquid that takes away from the desired stir-fry cooking style that stems from the Chinese influence in this dish. Don't cover it as it cooks - keep it "jumping" as the name implies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elk Park, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Lima, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Always great but I like adding cumin and adobo to the spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chad Gonzales

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by niabi
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I prepared this dish for my husband and mother-in-law, both Peruvian. They enjoyed it! I did add half of the vinegar than what was called for in the recipe; my husband makes this often and he has never used vinegar as an ingredient. Still, the flavor was quite good. I did add quite a bit more than a dash of soy sauce and I fried the potatoes myself. Oh, and substituted cilantro for parsley. Seems like a lot of changes, but the base recipe is a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niabi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Good take on a Peruvian classic. A few small tips to make it even better- add some cumin to the beef when seasoning along with the salt and pepper. You can also add soy sauce or marinate it in soy sauce. The two biggest omissions for me are first that when you're adding the soy sauce and vinegar (although I personally use red wine over vinegar) you also should add some worcestershire sauce (although some recipes call for beef bouillon). Second at the very end, right before your done throw on some cilantro. The worcestershire and cilantro give it the really authentic Peruvian flavor in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meatloaf Cupcakes

A savory surprise! Kid-approved meatloaf cupcakes are piped with mashed potatoes.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States