Peruvian Cilantro Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This recipe is alright, I think the frozen carrots and pea do it no justice, it makes it more like a cheap food court fried rice plate. This is how I've been making arroz verde (green rice) for years.. in a blender blend chicken broth, 2 cloves garlic, a yellow aji chili pepper (seeded) , & cilantro untill liquefied. set aside. Heat olive oil in pot and saute chopped red onion and rice for about 5 mins. Add the chicken/cilantro broth and bring to boil, reduce to low and let cook. When done fluff with fork, toss with chopped scallions and add salt & pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I really wanted to try this recipe, because oddly enough, these ingredients were all we had in the house today! After reading other reviews I made some adjustments to steps 2 and 3 to avoid the blandness. For step 3, I used fresh carrots (about 1 cup diced) and sauteed them along with the garlic and also 1 tbsp. cumin (freshly roasted and ground) and 1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper. I then added the chicken, salt and pepper, rice and reserved chicken water. I added the cilantro towards the end of cooking and just heated it through so that it didn't get diluted or turn that off color. I also just added the thawed peas at this point, I see no point in cooking them to death. Perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
My husband is peruvian and we always make this with beer (cusquena or corona.)you add it with the cilantro so the rice can soak it up. (about half a bottle or more if you like)I know this dish as arroz con pollo. If you make it right, its delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Good effort at a Peruvian dish. In Peru, this dish is called "arroz verde" (green rice) or "arroz con pollo" (rice with chicken). It is a very popular dish. I live in Peru and eat it frequently. It's one of my kids' favorites. Chicken legs are used instead of breasts. Onion and aji (or other spicy pepper) is a must. Saute onion, garlic, and pureed aji, then liquify these with the cilantro and chicken broth. Fresh peas and carrots are always better (you can't get frozen veggies in Peru).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I also made this as a side dish and found it overall very good, but rather bland as prepared. It was also very juicy when the rice was done - I had to thicken it a bit. I am keeping this one to have again, but next time I will add a bit of heat (maybe some curry or finely shopped hot pepper) and will only use as much of the reserve liquid as my rice can use, rather than a full2.5 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Very delicious. I used mixed frozen veggies, left out the chicken, and substituted the garlic for garlic powder. My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This dish has a lot of potential, but doesn't work for me as it is - I had to throw out nearly the entire batch. How a dish with that much cilantro and smells so good can be bland is beyond me, but it really needs to be "taken up a notch." Other reviewers mentioned yellow pepper and cajun spice; both would be interesting, I think. I'm also wondering about cayenne and jalepeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angel
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
It was still a nice change to the traditional rice & chicken...but like the others said, a bit bland. The flavor of the cumin and cilantro were very yummy, but it needed a bit more punch. Probably the peppers that the other member talked or maybe a chili & way more garlic and maybe some onion??? Family still enjoyed it and we probably will make it again, but will play with it a bit more...Oh I added the juice of one fresh lime and it gave the dish a great zing. Thanks for the variety!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
The CDA and other medical organizations suggest 4 oz. of meat per serving. This therefore makes TWO servings. TWO, not six. Unfortunately, it also makes from four to eight servings of rice, which is less than useful. I suggest that the user either triple the amount of meat or reduce the amount of liquid and rice by two-thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Not sure why others rated it as bland? However I added the cilantro closer to the end of cooking we thought it came out great! Probably would taste great with added spiceness to if you wanted a spicy dish though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States