Peruvian Arroz con Pollo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Maybe I didn't make it the right way, but for all the effort, I didn't enjoy it that much. All the ingredients looked like it was going to be delicious, but it was just kind of blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
A great recipe, I could find everything living in Ecuador.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I add the cumin as others have said, also additional salt and green olives. I never have peas, have used corn 2 times and comes out great! Husband loves it and I do too and I usually don't like baked cooked or simmered chicken. I have used chicken quarters once and drumsticks another time, both turned out great. Always have used brown rice. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
No idea how "authentic" it is but it's very flavorful and tasty. Made several adjustments based on preferences/ ingredients I had on hand. - eliminated peas, cilantro - used only drumsticks - used half the amount of orange juice - cooked rice separately so it won't get soggy - added bell peppers at same time as other veggies - added more broth than called for, especially as the liquid cooked away (eyeballed it) - didn't use a blender (more out of sheer laziness) Next time I'd double the veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This was delicious! I didn't have an aji pepper, so I substituted with Peruvian Aji Amarillo paste purchased at a local Spanish supermarket in a nearby neighborhood. Great flavor, very authentic! I've traveled to Peru many, many times and am quite familiar with the cuisine. In fact, Peruvian food is probably my favorite of any kind. This recipe is definitely a keeper. Also, substituted 1 cup of beer for the white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
My mother is from Peru and I grew up eating this stuff and it is one of my favorite dishes. I thought the flavors were really good for this recipe. The chicken came out perfect! Very tender. A couple complaints / suggestions... Too much liquid. The rule of thumb is 2 cups of liquid per 2 cups of rice. Another reviewer had also suggested this. Too much onion. I made it with two unsure of how it would turn out, and it was indeed too much. Next time I will only use one onion, which I think is plenty. This recipe as is will result in mushy rice. My suggestions above should fix this. Mine came out a little bland. I didn't add enough salt to the combined ingredients before cooking the rice. Next time I will make sure the mixture tastes pretty salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Peruvian Arroz con Pollo has no Orange juice or wine on it.... The original and delicious recipe is with beer and chicken broth...and for it not to get too mushy the quantity of liquid has to be the same amount as the rice...if it is 2 cups of rice the you add 2 cups of liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This was a great recipe. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I live in Costa Rica and Arroz Con Pollo is a staple so I've had my fair share. This is far better than anything I've ever had. I love it and my husband does too. I'm making tonight for a group of 15 and I am sure they will all love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Loved it! I have a friend from Peru whose family owned a restaurant there. She makes this dish all the time as it was passed down to her by her mother. She'd never heard of using orange juice or wine before. But then she tried it and decided to change the recipe she'd been using all her life to include them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Roast Peruvian Turkey

A flavorful wet rub creates a gorgeous crust that locks in juices.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States