Peruvian Arroz con Pollo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I made this with skinless chicken breasts, red bell pepper, and no frozen peas, I didn't have any on hand.. The recipe is delicious! I do however always cut the amount of liquids to my rice dishes, I hate mushy rice. My in-laws we born and raised in Peru, they thought this was very authentic. Living in Miami Florida, there is a melting pot of cultures, with lots of South American resturants.. this is better than some Peruvian Arroz con Pollos I've had else where. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This is pretty good. I've never added orange juice to it though. I'll try it next time. Beer works well instead of white wine too. There's one thing I like to do different: I do like my cilantro/chili/garlic mix to "fry" and not just to simmer. The flavor (AND aroma!) that the chili pepper, the garlic and the cilantro release when being fried is IMO much better than the one they release when being simmered. So I omit the liquids in this step and add them later, and instead I add some oil to the blender (otherwise the herbs, garlic and peppers won't blend well) and then pour the mix into the hot pot and that will cause it to "fry". I also sautee the onions in the same pot, right after the cilantro/garlic/chili has been frying for a few minutes. Everything else is the same. **note**: Be VERY careful when deveining and deseeding the chili peppers. I do it with a knife and spoon and try not to touch the inside of the pepper until it's perfectly clean. Otherwise my hands will burn and so will everything I touch. Also, be ready to cough a bit, as the smell of the spicy part of the pepper you're removing will release some vapor that will make you cough. You can always buy the chili paste in a jar, but I warn you, that one will be hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Lima, Peru
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This reminds me of the Peruvian baked chicken we used to order from a takeout place in Manhattan. I bet the sauce would make a great rub for roast chicken, and will give it a try. The dish is great as is, or you can substitute chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pez lover
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This was a good meal, hearty and delicious. The recipe is solid as far as amounts and cooking times. However, I do not have a skillet big enough to hold (12 inch skillet wasn't big enough) all of it so right before everything cooks together for 30 minutes I transferred it to a large pot, got it boiling and then continued the recipe. It came out perfectly fine. I also used only 1 bunch of Cilantro instead of a bunch and a half but it came out OK. Instead of the Aji Pepper I used 4 Serano Chili Peppers. They are very small and my husband said the dish had a bit of a kick (spicy) but I didn't really notice it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This is delicious. Complex flavors, great taste and a really good way to make chicken and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
It was very bland! My husband and I were shocked because it had so many yummy ingredients. My kids like it though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I love arroz con pollo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This is absolutely delicious! Thank you for sharing this recipe. We are still licking our fingers. I added a tiny dash of cumin and turmeric for color, and one of my family members added some lime slices on her plate. I will definitely add this recipe to my recipe book! Yum...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I made this with skinless, boneless chicken breast and two Serrano peppers (which was the perfect spiciness for us). My husband and I really liked it. It was flavorful without being overpowering and the cilantro and orange juice combination is delicious! I would make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Peruvian Turkey

A flavorful wet rub creates a gorgeous crust that locks in juices.

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States