Personal Portobello Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
Excellent! I marinated my mushroom in a bit of Italian dressing for a little extra flavor, and with a little cheese and tomato sauce, it was wonderful. I'll definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
These are wonderful! You can't miss the step about baking the mushroom for a few minutes by itself before baking it with the added toppings. I think that is why some people had issues with it being watery. I know, because I missed that step the first time I made these! Also, I made the rookie mistake of rinsing the mushrooms rather than just wiping them off with a damp towel! They were still very good, though, and they have even been better since I realized my mistakes. I topped mine with pizza sauce, mozzarella, and tri-color bell peppers. Even my husband enjoyed them, and he is typically not inclined to enjoy anything unless it is meaty and greasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I love portobello pizzas! They are so good and give me a healthy alternative to satisfy my pizza cravings! I cook the mushroom for 10 minutes at 400 degrees and then add the topping and cook for another 10 minutes. Add whatever your favorite toppings are. I added cooked broccoli the other day just for some extra veggie. Delicious. Update: After reading the reviews, a few people mentioned how watery the mushroom was. A couple suggestions...DO NOT rinse your mushroom off under running water, mushrooms are very absorbent and will just soak up all that water. Just take a cloth or paper towel and brush the dirt off the mushroom. Also, try increasing the oven temp a little bit and cook the mushroom the first time around just a little longer to dry it out more. The mushroom will always be a little watery, but hopefully with those tips it won't be as bad as some have posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I thot these were great. I changed the toppings to fit what I had on hand and I also used the tip from one of the reviews about crankin' up the heat a little at the first cooking of the 'shrooms. One more tip is, I pre-cooked them-gills down on a rack on a pan-once that first pre-cooking is done I then placed them gills down on a paper towel for a few minutes while I finished prep on the toppings. My hubby and I didn't find them to be too juicy at all. In fact he went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
This pizza was awesome and what a nice change of pace from regular pizza. Certainly a lot healthier, too! I used pizza sauce instead of spaghetti sauce and used closer to 1/4 cup per mushroom. These would make great appetizers for a party. Thanks so much KJones 27!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
Everyone really liked this, even my eight year old. We used pizza sauce and everyone put on their favorite toppings. I used pickled garlic, cheese, green peppers and onion. My daughter used cheese and pepperoni. Dad had pickled garlic, pepperoni, onion, green pepper, and cheese. Will make agian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
These are VERY Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Delicious! What a great way to use portobellos! Be sure to wipe your mushrooms with a clean cloth - don't run them under water. That may be the reason for the wateriness some people complained about. I didn't have that problem, but also I left them in the oven longer than five minutes the first time around. I basted them with a little bit of olive oil before they went into the oven, too. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SundayGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
A quick and super easy meal meal to make. I added sun dried tomatoes as a topping and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Very good. We used mozzarella, chicken, and pistachio pesto. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chel79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States