Personal Portobello Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Delicious! What a great way to use portobellos! Be sure to wipe your mushrooms with a clean cloth - don't run them under water. That may be the reason for the wateriness some people complained about. I didn't have that problem, but also I left them in the oven longer than five minutes the first time around. I basted them with a little bit of olive oil before they went into the oven, too. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SundayGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I love portobello pizzas! They are so good and give me a healthy alternative to satisfy my pizza cravings! I cook the mushroom for 10 minutes at 400 degrees and then add the topping and cook for another 10 minutes. Add whatever your favorite toppings are. I added cooked broccoli the other day just for some extra veggie. Delicious. Update: After reading the reviews, a few people mentioned how watery the mushroom was. A couple suggestions...DO NOT rinse your mushroom off under running water, mushrooms are very absorbent and will just soak up all that water. Just take a cloth or paper towel and brush the dirt off the mushroom. Also, try increasing the oven temp a little bit and cook the mushroom the first time around just a little longer to dry it out more. The mushroom will always be a little watery, but hopefully with those tips it won't be as bad as some have posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I thought this was OK but not great. I have to agree with the other reviewer, who said they are difficult to eat. So, I'll probably not eat again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmwood Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cary, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I'd give this a five if it werent so watery. Delicious taste, easy, quick personal pizza. Any ideas on how to dry out the mushroom a bit so it doesnt run all over the plate when you cut into it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I loved the topping, but the mushrooms were slimey when cooked and looked ugly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRICKERSKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewiston, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This is a really good idea, especially for me I am diabetic and try to watch those carbs, and I adore mushrooms...Thanks so much for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
These are VERY Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
These were very good but really watery & quite messy. I liked the taste but I don't think I'll make them again just because they were a little hard to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
Everyone really liked this, even my eight year old. We used pizza sauce and everyone put on their favorite toppings. I used pickled garlic, cheese, green peppers and onion. My daughter used cheese and pepperoni. Dad had pickled garlic, pepperoni, onion, green pepper, and cheese. Will make agian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
Very nice recipe,great when your on a diet. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States