Personal Portobello Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
These are wonderful! You can't miss the step about baking the mushroom for a few minutes by itself before baking it with the added toppings. I think that is why some people had issues with it being watery. I know, because I missed that step the first time I made these! Also, I made the rookie mistake of rinsing the mushrooms rather than just wiping them off with a damp towel! They were still very good, though, and they have even been better since I realized my mistakes. I topped mine with pizza sauce, mozzarella, and tri-color bell peppers. Even my husband enjoyed them, and he is typically not inclined to enjoy anything unless it is meaty and greasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Just tried this tonight and it was delicious. Easy, fast and fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Loved these! I'm on a low-carb diet and these really satisfied my craving for pizza! Thank you so much for sharing the recipe! I added diced bell pepper and a little bit of cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIPERCAT99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I make these all the time and I use the pizza sauce from this site called "Exquisite Pizza Sauce" INSTEAD of the spaghetti sauce. Really healthy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Woy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Anselmo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I thot these were great. I changed the toppings to fit what I had on hand and I also used the tip from one of the reviews about crankin' up the heat a little at the first cooking of the 'shrooms. One more tip is, I pre-cooked them-gills down on a rack on a pan-once that first pre-cooking is done I then placed them gills down on a paper towel for a few minutes while I finished prep on the toppings. My hubby and I didn't find them to be too juicy at all. In fact he went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Very good. We used mozzarella, chicken, and pistachio pesto. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chel79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Really good, easy recipe. I used some onion and peppers in place of the meat, and I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
A quick and super easy meal meal to make. I added sun dried tomatoes as a topping and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Delicious! What a great way to use portobellos! Be sure to wipe your mushrooms with a clean cloth - don't run them under water. That may be the reason for the wateriness some people complained about. I didn't have that problem, but also I left them in the oven longer than five minutes the first time around. I basted them with a little bit of olive oil before they went into the oven, too. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SundayGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I love portobello pizzas! They are so good and give me a healthy alternative to satisfy my pizza cravings! I cook the mushroom for 10 minutes at 400 degrees and then add the topping and cook for another 10 minutes. Add whatever your favorite toppings are. I added cooked broccoli the other day just for some extra veggie. Delicious. Update: After reading the reviews, a few people mentioned how watery the mushroom was. A couple suggestions...DO NOT rinse your mushroom off under running water, mushrooms are very absorbent and will just soak up all that water. Just take a cloth or paper towel and brush the dirt off the mushroom. Also, try increasing the oven temp a little bit and cook the mushroom the first time around just a little longer to dry it out more. The mushroom will always be a little watery, but hopefully with those tips it won't be as bad as some have posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States