Personal Portobello Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This was yummy... I was worried that I would never make it on a low carb diet but so far the food is not only creative by very tasty. I put basil pesto instead of tomatoe sauce, some ricatta cheese, italian sausage, fresh motz cheese and some fresh grated parm cheese.. very tasty... i so forgot to add my fresh spinach.. I will for sure be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
These were awesome. I have made them several times and they are a huge hit with everyone that has had them. Highly recommend. You can "tweak" them with different toppings. It's a great way to indulge without feeling like you have been bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherSC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I really enjoyed these - didn't use the garlic just canned sauce, shredded mozzarella and pepperoni and hot peppers - these were great! remove the gills and stems. Turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Be aware that the mushrooms shrink about 40% during baking, so make sure you get enough to fill each person. This is a great low-carb alternative to regular pizzas. My parents and grandmother are in their 70s and 90s respectively, and it was a winner with them. I scraped the gills and baked upside down first to reduce runniness, as advised in other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Great recipe! If you do the basic of heating of the mushroom first, you can change the stuffing/filling to suit your taste!!! I try different sauces ie pesto's ,salsa and different paste to change the flavour. You can also use any toppings you like on pizza. Veggie to meat to cheeses- ect.Just use cooked meat. They are very filling!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
These were great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
very easy! tastes great! very moist. I added garlic butter before putting the mushrooms in the oven for the first time, ask goat cheese is a nice addition. thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Seriously delicious!!! I followed others advice and removed the gills from the mushroom and had no problems with the pizza being watery. I have made this twice and both times were super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Personal Portobello Pizza Haiku: "Good taste, but messy. Follow reviewers' advice. Doubt I'll make again." Scraped gills, patted dry, and baked shroom at 400 deg. for 10 min., then filled and topped w/ pizza goodies and baked another 20 min. Still a drippy mess to eat, so I think I'd just rather an English Muffin pizza w/ baby bellas on top instead; glad that I tried this recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I loved it! it's like pulling the topping off of a pizza and eating it, except you feel full afterwards and have no nutrition guilt! i followed the suggestions of some comments and removed the gills and precooked the mushroom a little hotter and longer. i also sprayed the pan with a little olive oil cooking spray so nothing would stick. my caps were pretty flat so the toppings ran off, but the cheese got crispy and delicious around the edges. i topped mine with cheese and frozen italian style meatballs (microwaved according to directions and then sliced into 3-4 slices so they would lay flat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States