Persimmon Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
This is an unusual dessert--people look at it with doubt in their eyes, but once they taste it they are converted. Of course, the butter sauce (follows) is a key part--cut the pudding into squares, place on individual serving plates with an ample drizzle of butter sauce. Two cups of persimmon pulp equals 5-6 persimmons, peeled and blended in a food processor. I eliminated the baking powder because we like a dense pudding, and the little bit of soda works just fine. If you do that, you must use buttermilk rather than plain milk. I cut the sugar back to 1-1/2 cups and upped the vanilla to 1 tsp. The baking time required for me was 1 hour and 10 minutes. This also freezes well, wrapped tightly in foil. Make it in season, enjoy all year. Butter sauce: Combine in saucepan: 1/2 cup butter, 1 cup sugar, 1/2 cup cream, pinch of salt and 1-1/2 tsp. vanilla. Heat until sugar is melted and mixture is smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2000
always get compliments for this pudding when I bring it to carry in dinners. I use a bit more vanilla and cinnamon than it calls for. Wonderful texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
I followed the other reviewers advice on the following items: stirred the pudding every 15 minutes while baking, and added more vanilla/cinammon. Be advised, when i put this in the pan to go in the oven, it looked awful, but it turned out as the yummiest type of thick pudding I've ever had. And to save money I used over-ripe persimmons, the kind that small markets will sell for a fraction of the cost (like brown bananas). I will make this year-round, but the flavors are especially appropriate in the fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I've made it with raspberries in addition to the pomegranate as I didn't have quite enough of the pomegranate to fill the recipe's requirements. Very good. And I always 1/2 the sugar. Still very sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
I actually haven't made this yet...but I ate it after my sister-in-law Vivian made it. It is AWESOME even without any whipped cream or ice-cream. I can't wait to make it myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
what a great way to get rid of persimmons that were going way too soft. my family raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
Very tasty and simple. I used 2 cups of milk and 2 cups of sugar and threw in some more spices and two aging nectarines. The final product has a great texture and good, rich taste, but it is too sweet--it probably just needs to be served with some yoghurt, cream, ice cream, or meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boone, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Alphington, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
This is the same recipe that has been in our family for 130 years -- with just one change. If you stir the pudding every 15 minutes while baking, you won't get a crusty top, and it will be less cake-like and more like a true pudding. Very rich, so we just top with vanilla ice cream or whipped cream. Its also delicious cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Wow! My aunt Pam used to make this every year for us when I was a kid. Don't see her as often anymore, so I made this recipe. Very sweet, but delicious. Definately needs whipped topping on it! Mine needed baking an extra 5 minutes, but I also put extra persimmon pulp in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shoals, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This is the first time my wife and I have tried Persimmon. We just love it!!! It was so easy to make aswell. I did not worry about stirring it like others have. I did cut a 1/4 cup of sugar. I love the crispy edges and creamy texture inside. I would say this texture is like bread pudding. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brad Imsand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States