Persimmon Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CaliGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Wow! I'm so impressed! This turned out so beautifully. I did not poke it every 15 minutes as I did want a cakey finished product and I finished cooking at 52 minutes and gave it time to cool. I also only made half the recipe and used a 9x5 square pan to accomplish the same size and density as I would've with the larger recipe. I'm rating the recipe 5 star without my adjustments as it got everything right. What I changed for myself was making it a bit more "holiday spiced " by adding 1/8 tsp of each: nutmeg, allspice and powdered ginger and 1 full tsp of each: vanilla and cinnamon. Yum yum yum. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Yummy! I also cut back on the sugar to 1.5 cups and added about a half a teaspoon each more of the cinnamon and vanilla. So good! Was a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarinaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
So great! I actually used 3 sugars (brown, cane, and coconut) which equaled 1 1/2 cups. Totally enough sugar! I didn't have enough flour so I substituted 1/2 cup flour with blue-corn flour. I tried mixing it every 15 minutes, but really I didn't mind it being a bit cakey.-- made homemade vanilla whip-cream to go with it and it is awesome!! I don't see it going wrong no matter what you do to it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I used 1 1/4 c sugar, and it was still a bit sweet for me; I'd probably try 3/4 c. The persimmons are sweet enough on their own. I did like adding more cinnamon and vanilla than called for, and I think pumpkin pie spice in place of the cinnamon would add a richer flavor. You could add raisins, too. Served mine with pomegranates and fresh blueberries. Also, I used sprouted flour and soy milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This was my first time making persimmon pudding and it turned out great. My persimmons were very ripe so I reduced the sugar to 2 cups. Even those in the family who normally do not like persimmons loved the pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mainz, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This was amazing. I got rave reviews from people who had never had persimmons before. I did make some changes. I increased both the vanilla and the cinnamon to 1 teaspoon. I also added 1/4 tsp of nutmeg, and decreased the sugar to 1 1/2 cups (1 cup white, 1/2 cup brown). Next time I think I will cut the sugar down to 1 1/4 cups, because it was still just slightly too sweet. But delicious, and had the PERFECT texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULESMICHY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This is a GREAT recipe. Everyone loves it and it's easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This is the first time my wife and I have tried Persimmon. We just love it!!! It was so easy to make aswell. I did not worry about stirring it like others have. I did cut a 1/4 cup of sugar. I love the crispy edges and creamy texture inside. I would say this texture is like bread pudding. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brad Imsand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I've made it with raspberries in addition to the pomegranate as I didn't have quite enough of the pomegranate to fill the recipe's requirements. Very good. And I always 1/2 the sugar. Still very sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
what a great way to get rid of persimmons that were going way too soft. my family raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States