Persimmon Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
So great! I actually used 3 sugars (brown, cane, and coconut) which equaled 1 1/2 cups. Totally enough sugar! I didn't have enough flour so I substituted 1/2 cup flour with blue-corn flour. I tried mixing it every 15 minutes, but really I didn't mind it being a bit cakey.-- made homemade vanilla whip-cream to go with it and it is awesome!! I don't see it going wrong no matter what you do to it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I used 1 1/4 c sugar, and it was still a bit sweet for me; I'd probably try 3/4 c. The persimmons are sweet enough on their own. I did like adding more cinnamon and vanilla than called for, and I think pumpkin pie spice in place of the cinnamon would add a richer flavor. You could add raisins, too. Served mine with pomegranates and fresh blueberries. Also, I used sprouted flour and soy milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This was my first time making persimmon pudding and it turned out great. My persimmons were very ripe so I reduced the sugar to 2 cups. Even those in the family who normally do not like persimmons loved the pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mainz, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This was amazing. I got rave reviews from people who had never had persimmons before. I did make some changes. I increased both the vanilla and the cinnamon to 1 teaspoon. I also added 1/4 tsp of nutmeg, and decreased the sugar to 1 1/2 cups (1 cup white, 1/2 cup brown). Next time I think I will cut the sugar down to 1 1/4 cups, because it was still just slightly too sweet. But delicious, and had the PERFECT texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULESMICHY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This is a GREAT recipe. Everyone loves it and it's easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This is the first time my wife and I have tried Persimmon. We just love it!!! It was so easy to make aswell. I did not worry about stirring it like others have. I did cut a 1/4 cup of sugar. I love the crispy edges and creamy texture inside. I would say this texture is like bread pudding. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brad Imsand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I've made it with raspberries in addition to the pomegranate as I didn't have quite enough of the pomegranate to fill the recipe's requirements. Very good. And I always 1/2 the sugar. Still very sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
what a great way to get rid of persimmons that were going way too soft. my family raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I cut the sugar by 1/2 c. Stir twice in 15 minute intervals. I might add a dash of nutmeg next time. This is great with ice cream or whipped cream. Additional note: I have made this 3 times now and it is important to adjust the recipe based on the type of persimmon you are using hachiya (round deep orange) persimmons are very sweet and give this pudding a great caramelized sugar flavor. You can cut another 1/4 cup sugar when using hachiyas. The fuyu persimmons are less sweet. I use 2 cups sugar for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This recipe is perfect! A lot of the reviews mentioned making changes like cooking it longer and cutting out sugar. It's a pudding so just cook it the 55 min. then let it cool, set up, and dry out. When it is has cooled it will be thick enough to use a spatula to serve it with. It is going to be sweet, but it is just that a sweet treat. It won't take much to satisfy those taste buds. An exceptional recipe and new favorite in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States