Persimmon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
The pie tasted good. However, as I feel the recipe is not correct. I followed the recipe to the tee. Not only was there too much filling to fit in a 9 inch pie crust, but after the specified amount of time in the oven it was not cooked at all. I let it cool completely as the recipe specified and still a soupy mess. Will definitely NOT be making this recipe again. Quite a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
My pie turned out great! Very similar to pumpkin pie. After reading the reviews, I was worried about the texture of the persimmons, so after cutting them into chunks I simmered them for a few minutes until they were soft enough for a fork to puncture--just like I do for mashed potatoes. I also pureed them in the cuisinart til they were very smooth. The persimmon filling was very smooth. Fun alternative for Thanksgiving gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
aside from the fact that it took an hour and a half to cook this pie is pretty good. i added a little vanille and some brown sugar. and used heavy cream instead of half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Too soft, too grainy, had to cook it longer than recipe suggested. Besides all that, it's tastes blah. The recipe is not saved in my recipe box. Now--onward to baking Persimmon Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This did not turn out well. i followed all the directions and the pie came out bland and did not sit up correctly. it also had to cook more than just 10 min. and then 30 min. it was a lot longer. i won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I must have done something terribly wrong. I followed the recipe with the exception of adding a little more pulp because it was way too runny to cook right. When finished the pie was all watery and runny and seemed to have separated. The flavor was great, texture was grainy and lumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
used 1 can of evaporated milk instead of half/half. Adjusted spices to personal prefference. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HACOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Running Springs, California, USA
Living In: Arrowbear Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cathy
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
We really liked this pie, what a great recipe for persimmons! Out of necessity, I substituted one can of condensed sweetened milk plus 1/4 cup 2% milk for the sugar and half-and-half ;which worked fine but was quite sweet. As written would be just right, or maybe even a little less sugar if your persimmons are very ripe (as mine were).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Delicious. I used heavy cream instead of half and half and sprinkled fresh pomegranate seeds on top for a bit of tartness to balance out the sweet persimmons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
this pie turned out great. i did use the condensed milk that had been suggested and used splenda and an egg substitute. otherwise followed recipe as given. i did use food processor and pureed the pulp to make very smooth. sister-in-law that normally does not like pumplin like pies said she really liked this. would definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States