Persimmon Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I baked the first batch at 375 and they were too done so after that I baked them at 350. These cookies are delicious, especially if you would like to incorporate a few add-ons the family craves. Enjoy with tea, coffee or milk:) I also decided to buy extra persimmons now that they are in season to mash and freeze for future recipes. I freeze them in batches of 2 persimmons in each Freezer Ziplock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I just finished making two batches...I change nothing, however I did not purée the persimmons. My persimmons were very ripe, and I just left the big pulps and used 1 cup for each batch. We definitely can taste the persimmons. I love it, i freeze the ripe fruit and have them available whole year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Easy & delicious! My very first attempt at baking....ever! Came out yummy & perfect just following the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Ray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
These are very nice cake-like cookies. They don't spread out if you stick with the recipe, so make them in the shape you want them to be in. They even rise a little. The addition of the vanilla that other reviewers mention is a good improvement, and I cut back on the cloves a bit and added 1/2 tsp ground ginger,mans you can make it without the nuts. Also works well with other fruit and squash purées - substitute 1 cup of whatever for the persimmons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Moss Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Excellent cookies. They were soft and cake-like. Didn't really taste the persimmon, they taste just like pumpkin bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breanna W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Recipe was very easy to make. And tasty. However mine stayed in a ball form. So they looked more like bite sized balls. Had more of bread consistency than a cookie. The only changes I made was I left out the clove because I didn't have any. And I used a pecan/peanut mixture because that is what I had on hand. I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by clarksofclarkco
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I don't care for persimmons, but when I got some from our produce co-op, I went looking for recipes. That was three years ago and this has been one of my favorite cookie recipes ever since! I always double the recipe and it bakes 4 dozen with a few extras. I don't add nuts or raisins...my family loves the spicy flavor of the cookies without add-ins. Even a neighborhood friend of my sons' loved them today after I baked my first batch of the season today. They are moist, tasty, flavorful, and just plain delicious! Definitely a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
I added raisins. Yummy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I was given tons of Japanese persimmons in the fall and was at a loss with what to do with them. I froze them as a puree to take out when I needed, but this recipe was perfect! Everyone loved the cookies, and they disappeared very quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Easy to make, and delicious. I am in love with persimmons so to be able to turn them into a cookie is a plus for me. Please note when you are placing them on to the cookies sheet you can put them close to each other. I noticed that they do not spread out like chocolate chip cookies do. I wish I had a party to go to so I could takes these.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Omc McGuire

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States