Persimmon Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This was a wonderful way to use persimmons that someone gave me. In a second batch, I added some raisins for an added flavor. It is a light and fluffy cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love Staying At Home

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wasco, California, USA
Living In: Shafter, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
I got a load of persimmons from a elderly student, and made 3 batches to take for the other teachers. Everyone complimented them. Almost like a flat cupcake rather than a traditional cookie, not that anyone minded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by concretejungleprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Easy to prepare and the whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
I thought these cookies were just okay. Not was I was looking for--not that it stopped us from eating them! They are a cake-like cookie and have a nice spice taste in the mouth. If I try them again, I might tweak the recipe a bit with 1/2 brown sugar, some vanilla flavoring and maybe the addition of some oatmeal or dates. I felt they needed something to make them really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
Very good recipe! I made this recipe last night for dance class potluck and everyone devoured them so...I made them again today. Substitutions made: add 1 tsp vanilla extract, 1/2 tsp lemon extract, used only 1/2c. nuts (pecans) instead. *NOTE* Persimmons are not always available year-round so I like to buy lots, puree them and freeze - 2 persimmons equals about 1c. puree. Doing this will allow you to make yummy, comforting persimmon desserts all year long! OH YEAH...first time I made with half splenda/half sugar and it was fine. Non-diabetics enjoyed w/o noticing diff. - many even begged for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DKWAHINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suisun City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I changed the recipe to suit our tastes. I substituted dried apples for nuts. I added 1/2 a cup of sugar (We like cookies sweet). I used whole wheat pastry flour (Bob's Red Mills). I used only cinnamon (2 tsp). They were perfect. I made dozens and they were all gone in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
These are good....although not very attractive. If I make again, I will leave out cloves and nutmeg to avoid the pumpkin pie taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
Oooooh soooo yummy! I just made these and the last batch isn't even out of the oven yet and the first two batches are almost gone (there is only 4 of us). This is the first time I'd ever tasted let alone made persimmon cookies and I will be making them again. Expect a pumpkin pie like taste and you will be delightfully surprised! Just a note I had to add a little water to the persimmons to get them to puree in the blender, about a 1/4 cup or so of it. Didn't ruin the texture at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marble Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
Not liking persimmon myself, I can't really give my personal oppinion. But I made these cookies at my husband's request and he says that they are absolutely fabulous! What I can say is that they were very easy to put together and I baked them exactly per the instructions. Happy baking:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
This is a wonderfully easy and yummy recipe for persimmon cookies. They taste just like grandma's! They come out very moist and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States