Persimmon Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I basically used the recipe but had to make it gluten free, corn free and dairy free. I did make some spice changes and the cookies were amazing. I added 1 tablespoon of crystalized ginger finely chopped, 1 heaping tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp gr. cloves, 1/2 tsp nutmeg from a whole nutmeg that I ground on a fine microplaner, I also added raisins to half the dough because half of us like raisins and half of us don't. I used one cup of Almond flour that I ground myself and then I used my gluten free corn free flour mix that I make myself for the other cup of flour. I replaced the white sugar with 1 cup evapoated cane juice plus a heaping tablespoon of Maple sugar and I used 1/2 cup grapeseed oil in place of the butter. These cookies were moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
yummy! I left out the nuts because im not big on them and they were still delicious. I highly recommend! I also turned down the temp to 350 as 375 was a bit too high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
My new favorite fall cookie! I've never even tasted a persimmon before making these, but loved the outcome; a cake like soft cookie with a yummy spice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandiroo1213

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
A cakey cookie I'm not crazy about, but could not stop craving. I didn't love them at first. The nutmeg/clove/cinnimon flavor kept drawing me back for more. A fall treat perfect with coffee or tea. I have a powerful producing persimmon tree and like to try new ways to use them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHMARGI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Yummmmmyyyyy!! I made these today. Perfect for this season and so moist and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I give these only 3 stars as "cookies", but would give them 4 stars if labeled "Persimmon Biscuits" because they are so bread-like. To make them as biscuits, of course, I would just drop more batter on the cookie sheet, prior to baking, and flatten them out a bit. Then, I would slice them in half, once they were very lightly browned, spread on some cinnamon and butter and toast them, which I think would be better, to tell the truth. The recipe calls for 2 persimmons, but I live in the South and only have wild persimmons, which are small, and I am not positive how many of my smaller version of persimmons would equal the "2" called for in the recipe. Following some suggestions on other websites for substitution, I just went by amount of pulp rendered, using enough wild persimmons (about 30) to equal 1 cup of pulp. Perhaps that was not enough to equal the taste I would have gotten from the "2 persimmons" called for, but these cookies came out pretty bland tasting. Again, more like a biscuit. I left out the cloves and nutmeg, per recommendation of a reviewer who said they thought it may be the spices that cover up too much of the persimmon taste, but I don't think it helped. If I was experienced enough as a baker to know how much more persimmon pulp I could get away with adding, without messing up the recipe, I'd add more pulp. Anyway, thanks Bonnie, for submitting this recipe. I looked other places online for persimmon recipes and there aren't nearly enough! Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meleah
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
fantastically spicy cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I've never had persimmon cookies before, but I had some that were a bit overripe and thought to give these a try. Great recipe! These are the cutest cookies ever, so soft and puffy! My dad loved them. I didn't try the recipe exactly as written, but I'll give it 5 stars for the attention it deserves. Baked for 12 min, full batch made about 16 cookies. I didn't have cloves, nutmeg, or walnuts, so I had to make a few adjustments. We had trail mix with cashews, sunflower seeds, etc, so I added that. I also crumbled some Anna's Ginger Thins over the top before baking, and they were awesome in both texture and taste! I subtracted 3 tbs of butter and added some applesauce instead. I used 3/4 cup of white sugar and 1/4 cup of brown. I also added vanilla. Next time, I will use another persimmon for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foperators

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
very good, the spices work together. More of a spice tasting cookie than persimmon flavor, but still tastes so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
These cookies aren't bad, but I was not super impressed by them. They taste like they were intended to be healthy breakfast cookies, which they are not. Based on previous reviewers' thoughts, I ramped up the flavor by adding about 1 tsp of vanilla, using half brown sugar, and half wheat flour. I think this helped. My boyfriend liked them better than I did. I guess I just prefer a crunchy cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States