Persimmon Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Very easy recipe that makes tasty cookies. I can see substituting or adding chocolate chips, raisins, and several different types of nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msladygee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Too sweet , I'd reduce the sugar by half in future. I had to bake longer since mix ended up being rather heavy so the top part was a bit too sticky rather than crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I basically used the recipe but had to make it gluten free, corn free and dairy free. I did make some spice changes and the cookies were amazing. I added 1 tablespoon of crystalized ginger finely chopped, 1 heaping tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp gr. cloves, 1/2 tsp nutmeg from a whole nutmeg that I ground on a fine microplaner, I also added raisins to half the dough because half of us like raisins and half of us don't. I used one cup of Almond flour that I ground myself and then I used my gluten free corn free flour mix that I make myself for the other cup of flour. I replaced the white sugar with 1 cup evapoated cane juice plus a heaping tablespoon of Maple sugar and I used 1/2 cup grapeseed oil in place of the butter. These cookies were moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
yummy! I left out the nuts because im not big on them and they were still delicious. I highly recommend! I also turned down the temp to 350 as 375 was a bit too high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
My new favorite fall cookie! I've never even tasted a persimmon before making these, but loved the outcome; a cake like soft cookie with a yummy spice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandiroo1213

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
A cakey cookie I'm not crazy about, but could not stop craving. I didn't love them at first. The nutmeg/clove/cinnimon flavor kept drawing me back for more. A fall treat perfect with coffee or tea. I have a powerful producing persimmon tree and like to try new ways to use them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHMARGI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Yummmmmyyyyy!! I made these today. Perfect for this season and so moist and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I give these only 3 stars as "cookies", but would give them 4 stars if labeled "Persimmon Biscuits" because they are so bread-like. To make them as biscuits, of course, I would just drop more batter on the cookie sheet, prior to baking, and flatten them out a bit. Then, I would slice them in half, once they were very lightly browned, spread on some cinnamon and butter and toast them, which I think would be better, to tell the truth. The recipe calls for 2 persimmons, but I live in the South and only have wild persimmons, which are small, and I am not positive how many of my smaller version of persimmons would equal the "2" called for in the recipe. Following some suggestions on other websites for substitution, I just went by amount of pulp rendered, using enough wild persimmons (about 30) to equal 1 cup of pulp. Perhaps that was not enough to equal the taste I would have gotten from the "2 persimmons" called for, but these cookies came out pretty bland tasting. Again, more like a biscuit. I left out the cloves and nutmeg, per recommendation of a reviewer who said they thought it may be the spices that cover up too much of the persimmon taste, but I don't think it helped. If I was experienced enough as a baker to know how much more persimmon pulp I could get away with adding, without messing up the recipe, I'd add more pulp. Anyway, thanks Bonnie, for submitting this recipe. I looked other places online for persimmon recipes and there aren't nearly enough! Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meleah
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
fantastically spicy cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I've never had persimmon cookies before, but I had some that were a bit overripe and thought to give these a try. Great recipe! These are the cutest cookies ever, so soft and puffy! My dad loved them. I didn't try the recipe exactly as written, but I'll give it 5 stars for the attention it deserves. Baked for 12 min, full batch made about 16 cookies. I didn't have cloves, nutmeg, or walnuts, so I had to make a few adjustments. We had trail mix with cashews, sunflower seeds, etc, so I added that. I also crumbled some Anna's Ginger Thins over the top before baking, and they were awesome in both texture and taste! I subtracted 3 tbs of butter and added some applesauce instead. I used 3/4 cup of white sugar and 1/4 cup of brown. I also added vanilla. Next time, I will use another persimmon for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foperators

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States