Persimmon Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
These have a nice holiday taste, but are relatively low on flavor. I'm a fan of moist chewy cookies. These have a 'cakey' texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smith Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annabelle
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Better than grandma's! This recipe made 3 dozen 2 1/2" cookies with a cakelike/spongy center and slightly crispy edges. Perfect! The 2.5" cookies took about 13 minutes at 350 in my gas oven near sea level. The 3" cookies took closer to 15 minutes. I didn't have any walnuts, so I left them out. Still, really yummy. These cookies passed the "skeptical husband" taste test and made my whole house smell sooooo good. I think I used the Fuyu variety of persimmons: still firm when ripe and shaped like a squat tomato (no point on the bottom). I peeled them, diced them and pureed them well in a blender. I will definitely make these again if I can get my hands on more persimmons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annabelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
These cookies are so YUMMY!! I can't get enough of them. I followed the recipe exactly, except I baked them longer since I was using parchement paper. (Didn't want the added grease on baking pan) But other than that I did everything the recipe called for and they turned out fantastic. Can't wait to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOOTSEBUG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
As a vegan I'm always tweaking traditional recipes by substituting plant-based for animal-based ingredients. For this one I substituted canola oil for the butter and about half a banana for the egg. Also, I had an Indian blend spice on hand that consisted of cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg and anise that I used, adding extra cinnamon. The staff and volunteers at the spay/neuter clinic where I work raved about the cookies, including the omnivores. They couldn't believe they were vegan! Great basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
These cookies are delicious! Spicy and soft!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ Bakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
First time using persimmons and have become a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
These were good but I can't taste the spice as much as i'd like; maybe they will be better tomorrow. I baked them 15 min. for T size cookies. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I just encountered persimmons for the first time, I bought several and tried them by themselves but found them sort of bland. My dad told me that he grew up with a persimmon tree in his yard and his dad would bake persimmon cookies. I tried this recipe first and I will not try any others - this one is amazing!!! They just came out of the oven and I can't stop gobbling them up :) I didn't have any raisins or walnuts, but I did add 1/2 c. of chopped almonds and they turned out beautifully. 15 minutes might have been a bit long, perhaps 13-14 would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Fantastic! I was given persimmons and cooked with them for the first time-this is a perfect recipe! My cookies turned out beautiful,moist,tasty! Hats Off to Patty! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honoring St. Cecilia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Great recipe. I'd never baked persimmon cookies before, but this recipe was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Dewitt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sand Springs, Montana, USA
Living In: Exeter, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States