Persimmon Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
As a vegan I'm always tweaking traditional recipes by substituting plant-based for animal-based ingredients. For this one I substituted canola oil for the butter and about half a banana for the egg. Also, I had an Indian blend spice on hand that consisted of cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg and anise that I used, adding extra cinnamon. The staff and volunteers at the spay/neuter clinic where I work raved about the cookies, including the omnivores. They couldn't believe they were vegan! Great basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
These cookies are delicious! Spicy and soft!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ Bakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
First time using persimmons and have become a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
These were good but I can't taste the spice as much as i'd like; maybe they will be better tomorrow. I baked them 15 min. for T size cookies. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I just encountered persimmons for the first time, I bought several and tried them by themselves but found them sort of bland. My dad told me that he grew up with a persimmon tree in his yard and his dad would bake persimmon cookies. I tried this recipe first and I will not try any others - this one is amazing!!! They just came out of the oven and I can't stop gobbling them up :) I didn't have any raisins or walnuts, but I did add 1/2 c. of chopped almonds and they turned out beautifully. 15 minutes might have been a bit long, perhaps 13-14 would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Fantastic! I was given persimmons and cooked with them for the first time-this is a perfect recipe! My cookies turned out beautiful,moist,tasty! Hats Off to Patty! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honoring St. Cecilia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Great recipe. I'd never baked persimmon cookies before, but this recipe was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sand Springs, Montana, USA
Living In: Exeter, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I use this recipe, but without the cloves. I also use whole wheat flour and Splenda with great results. I don't like persimmons, but with 2 trees, I had to do something. I do freeze the pulp for later use. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
The persimmon/soda mixture turned into a jell after sitting for a few minutes. When I added all of the wet ingredients together the butter broke out into small balls. The cookies,however, turned out fine. I cooked two trays at once and the 2nd tray flattened out too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I used 3 ripe persimmons and the persimmon taste was still too subtle for me. Next time, I will add more. (Update - It might have been the persimmons I bought as I've just cut open one to eat and it was gritty in taste. Also, all the cookies turned soft and black the next day but still tasted fine.) I knocked the 1/2 tsp of nutmeg to 1/4 tsp as I find it an overpowering spice. 15 minutes left my first batch almost burnt! I had better results at 12-14 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States