Persimmon Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
yum! I am not a big persimmon person but I had half a dozen on hand so I thought that I would try these and I really enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by okc foodadict

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I've made this recipe a few times now and everyone in my family loves it! I have tweaked the recipe quite a bit though to make it more healthier. I used 4 persimmons, instead of 2 cups of flour, I used 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour and 1 cup almond flour, coconut oil instead of butter and coconut palm sugar in place of white sugar and lastly 2 eggs instead of 1 egg because I like the cake like consistency!! These turn out amazing each time (I bake them on parchment lined baking sheet) thank you so much for sharing the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ady925
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I didn't know what persimmon pulp was, so I boiled the persimmons and put them in the blender with some of the boiled water used. Made mush out of it and poured it into the mix. They came out good! Like another review, it wasn't creaming, until I added the persimmon stuff I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
New holiday favorite! I altered the recipe by cutting the sugar down to 1/2 cup this allowed for the natural sweetness and flavor of the persimmon to come through with the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I have made persimmon cookies from a recipe on this site before and LOVED them; however, this time i used this recipe and i found the cookies had a very floury and dry taste, that me nor my family was very fond of. I would definitely recommend the recipe called Persimmon Cookies III, which were much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Envision a warm home, twinkling Christmas lights, a cup of hot something or other, a log burning in the fireplace, the giggle of a happy toddler under the Christmas tree, and the warmth of a full heart... What does that taste like? These. Seriously. Make them and taste Christmas happiness in your mouth. Just made them for the first time and they are a pure joy to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I tried making Persimmon cookies a couple years ago, and although my son liked them, no one else really cared for them. But my Aunt gave me a bag of Persimmons so I thought I'd give it another shot. I found this recipe and read the reviews. I used Craisins instead of raisins and used walnuts from our tree and added chocolate chips. I tasted the dough and kept tasting! I never do that! The cookies were fantastic and my husband said they were the best cookies that I've ever made! I am freezing them for the Holidays, but I may have to make another batch because they may not make it to the freezer! As another reviewer mentioned, it makes a difference in using ripe persimmons and I used three. Perfection! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe. It's a keeper! (PS, I too cut down the nutmeg to 1/4 teaspoon and that was just right!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Very hearty and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Yummy! I had never seen a persimmon before a girlfriend from work gave me two. I plowed thru recipes trying to figure out what to do with them when I found this recipe for cookies. I pureed the Baking Soda with the Persimmons; substituted the Flour for Cake Flour; kept the measurements of spices, egg and butter the same; substituted the Walnuts with Pecans then dusted lightly with Baker's sugar! I live on the coast so I Convection-Baked for 20 minutes at 325º. The cookies came out beautifully, lightly golden with a candied crunch from the sugar, soft and spongy inside! I couldn't keep the boys out of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States