Persimmon Brunch Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Absolutely fabulous! Moist and rich with just the right amount of sweetness. I substituted three quarters of the sugar with Sucanat, (the other 1/4 with organic sugar) and the butter with coconut oil. It came out wonderfully! It is truly irresistible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This was a great recipie to use up a bunch of ripe persimmons. I used the sites recipie adjuster to increase the servings until it used up as much pulp as I had. Then I put it in a 9 x 13 pan. It still only needed about 35-40 min to cook at 350. The only other adjustment I made was to use pumpkin pie spice in place of the cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves. I was surprised to have to add the baking soda to the pulp instead of the dry ingredients and even more surprised when it caused the pulp to gel. As described it made a very dense batter that I had to spread out in the pan and even after it cooked I could still see the lines in the top of the cake from the spatula, so it didn't smooth out much as it cooked. It has a dense cake texture and a nice flavor of spices and orange with only a light persimmon flavor even when using overripe persimmons. Mine also has small bits of persimmon since I didn't blend the pulp only mashed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I liked the taste of this after I made it but the cook time is way too long in my opinion, either that or the bread/cake mix might be better if put into a rectangle bread pan instead of wide cake pan. I put the cake in for 40 minutes and now it is too dry, maybe 35 would be better?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yacqueli

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Alamitos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Made this with a few changes! I read some of the other comments. For starters, I cut down on the spices. I used 3/4 teas of cinnamon and 1/2 teas of ginger. I also added 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract. Instead of all white sugar, I used half brown sugar and half white. Turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummy mummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was delish. The spice mixture was spot on and the aroma was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maslow
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I made this tonight and it was a big hit. Makes a lovely, spicey sweet cake which is a perfect treat around the holidays. I made a few modifications. First - I doubled the amount of persimmons and used a little more butter (closer to 3/4 of a cup). So it made my cake turn out very moist but still light. I also added raisins instead of the nuts, which added to the sweetness. Will definitely make it again, and want to try it in muffin format.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maslow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
It tastes pretty good, but not that much like persimmon. I'll try tweaking it a bit next time to see if I can't get more of a persimmon flavor. Overall, it's a good way to get rid of a fair amount of ripe persimmons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoosePhysh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
My wife made this cake for us after we got a ton of persimmons in our market box. It is moist and delicious -- awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTTSBELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
You can't taste the persimmons, but this cake is yummy! It was a great way to use up all those persimmons getting ripe on me. I followed the recipe as close as I could, except I left out the lemon zest. Try it with some whipping cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dizziepixie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
Yummy! Somewhat dense cake but great flavor - loved the pecans in it. Glad to have another tasty recipe for persimmons! Will definitely make this one again - tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States