Persimmon Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly and it came out great! I baked two loaves for an hour and I think I could have gotten away with 50-55 minutes, so check your bread after 50 minutes and adjust accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sagenicole
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Super moist and fluffy. I added ripe banana mash instead of applesauce and chia seeds just for fun. The spices really make the bread flavorful and unique. This would be perfect for Thanksgiving brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This was my first time making persimmon bread and I think it turned out well, although I couldn't really taste the persimmons. I halved the recipe because I only had a cup of puree and it worked out fine. I did add only 3/4 cup of sugar instead of 1 cup and it turned out plenty sweet. I also cut the allspice a bit too. I cooked them as mini muffins for approximately 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Instead of making my usual persimmon cookies and persimmon pudding I tried this one and it turned out great. I did substitute another 1/2 cup persimmon pulp for the 1/2 cup applesauce. This bread isn't too sweet and I like the use of whole wheat flour and oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This bread is delicious. I used 1 1/2 c. sugar, 3 tsp. Garam Masala Indian spices blend (instead of the other spices), 1 c. persimmon and 1 c. banana, and added walnuts. Wonderful and unusual. Great with Tetley Cardamom Tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I used this recipe to use up pulp I had left over from making fresh juices. I had been looking for a good recipe to use it up and this one called for quite a bit of pulp. The pulp I had used consisted of apple, beet, celery, and lots of carrot. It worked great! it was a little heavy on the all spice for me - but it is still really delicious. half went into a loaf, the other half went into muffins which I baked for around 30 min. The taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gravenhurst, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I made this bread according to the directions, adding about 3/4 cup of chopped nuts as well. The result tastes good, but be warned that it is VERY dense and heavy. More so than a normal banana bread or pumpkin bread. I was thinking of giving these for gifts, but I have to say that I don't think they're good enough for that. Time to try a different recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA
Living In: La Habra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
Persimmons on their own didn't have much flavor but the bread was moist, hearty and yummy! I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRI122

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
Thank you for sharing this recipe. We had some persimmons that our grands had picked from a friend's tree and had no idea how to use them. The recipe you shared with us turned out great...we added a banana since we were just shy of the 2 cup suggested amount of persimmon. Everyone loved the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
Perfect for the holidays. Found it quick and easy, but most important, enjoyed by the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States